monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Little Shawl of Horrors, redux.

So could Rich just keep on being sick? He had a cold, then he had another cold and it turned into bronchitis, and now he has some kind of flu! Sore muscles, achy head, fever, and of course he won't listen to me and do what I tell him to do! He'd rather just lay on the couch and be miserable.

Because Rich was sick today, Rachel and I have been walking the dog, and we had to do the dishes tonight, too! That was probably only fair, since we made the mess in the kitchen ourselves, but still...

Rachel made pizza dough from a very good recipe that a friend gave me years ago, and we made homemade pizzas! (And a big mess.) We didn't have tomato sauce, but I don't like tomato sauce, so it wasn't a problem. I had a jar of pesto sauce to use as a base on my pizza, and Rachel chopped garlic and let it soak in olive oil to spread on hers.

We have been doing laundry and changed the sheets on my bed today, too, so we are just quite the homemakers. I spent some time watching TV this evening and knitting on the belt of a sweater that Rachel is making for her friend Sarah, who is on a mission in Chile. Rachel is sick of working on the sweater, and the belt needs to be about 55 inches long, so she was very happy when I picked it up to work on it.

In other knitting news, I'm making a pair of socks with Paton's Kroy yarn in a wonerful dark olive green called Welsh Green. I love it! I bought it from a seller on eBay, and I've got more yarn coming from her next week. The socks are just K3P1 ribbing all down the leg and the front of the foot, and they are so beautiful.

Then tonight when we had finished changing my bed and we were sitting in my room watching TV, Rachel mentioned that she still wants a wedding shawl, and she wants it knitted from the pink and blue handpainted wool I bought on eBay last month. Well, that's slightly heavier than the silk/alpaca blend I was using for the Little Shawl of Horrors, and it will have a little give, too, unlike the silk/alpaca yarn, so what the hell, I cast on for another try. Yeah, pass the Xanax and a glass of water.

11:50 p.m. - 2005-03-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter