monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am wearing a shirt with a spot of soup spilled on it.

I was a grownup today! I took the van to Farm & Fleet and got a new tire! All by myself! Well, RA was with me, but she was just being my sidekick, not leading me there.

When Rich's parents were here this weekend, we were all out in the yard watching Kim learn to putt with her new clubs ("But I don't want to get them dirty!") and his dad noticed that the front tire on the passenger side had a big welt in it! I asked if that was caused by Kim driving over the curb and no one answered, probably to spare Kim's feelings, because today the tire guy looked at it and asked if I had driven over a curb! I knew it!

We're going to Nauvoo (about a 4 hour trip) on Friday for Karin's wedding (woot!), so I thought we'd better get the tire taken care of right away, instead of ignoring it and hoping it goes away, which is how we usually deal with house or car maintainance problems.

Rachel had to work this morning and then had two classes in the afternoon, so I made dinner by myself while Kim slept on the couch after school. I made the wonderful Vegetable and Bean Soup with Pesto that we had a couple of weeks ago after we watched Rachel Ray make it on her show. I made a bigger batch this time, because we loved it so much.

I added meatballs to the soup again, because the first time I made minestrone soup (well, Scott was 10, and he was making it for a boy scout badge, and I was just supervising), it had meatballs so I can't imagine eating it without the meatballs. I don't have that meatball recipe anymore, but I just add a big handful of crushed crackers, an egg, a little milk and a handful of parmesan cheese to a pound or so of meatloaf meat (2/3 ground beef, 1/3 ground pork). Then we brown them before adding them to the soup. You can find the recipe for the soup on the Food Network website.

Knitting news:
I was pootling around the knitblog ring when I found a blog that offered a sock pattern for sale and a contest to see who could make a pair first. The pattern is really pretty, so I ordered and started the socks today, even though I'm late entering and won't have a chance to be first to finish. I started the socks in purple Kroy, but it was too dark to see the pattern and you know I have issues with lace knitting, so I finally ripped them out and started over with Wheat-colored Fortissima.

Rachel had been observing me at work on the purple socks and making unhelpful remarks about my lace-knitting ability, and when I put down the purple yarn, she decided we would have a contest just at our house, so she started a pair of the Spearfish Socks, too. Oh right, as if she is going to beat me! She is knitting a pair with the purple Kroy.

As I was getting ready to leave for work tonight, she said that it wasn't fair if I took the socks to work because I have so much time to knit at my job, and she will be sleeping! I argued it a little, but agreed to leave my Spearfish sock home.

Instead I brought the socks that I'm making for my FSIL (yeah, like I'm ever going to make anything for that bastard again in this lifetime, may he rot in hell) - they're just plain vanilla socks knit from a nice yarn called Trekking that I bought at the yarn shop in Omaha when I was having retail therapy last week. The colors are a wonderful self striping pattern of a cream background with a black stripe and chocolate brown blobby bits. They remind me of American Indian pottery, so I'm calling them Anasazi Socks.

Oh, and the Spearfish Sock pattern has a lovely printed label to wrap around your finished socks, with room for care instructions to be written, and I think that is a brilliant idea! I'm going to design a label for my handknitted socks, and use it on all of the gift socks I make in the future!

Click here to order the Spearfish Socks pattern, if you want to knit along with us.


11:23 p.m. - 2005-04-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter