monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

You spin me right round baby.

Woke up at 12:30 when Kelly called to see if I would babysit for the Pretty Pretty Baby, which I am happy to do, but she didn't need me until 3, so I went out to lunch with Rachel at the Imperial Palace, and then we went shopping to look at rugs.

The new apartment has hardwood floors, and while they are beautiful and add to the light and airy atmosphere, they also echo noisily, especially when there isn't a lot of furniture to soak up sound. We bought a large area rug for the living room last week, but she needs more!

So we went to Shopko to spend the gift card she won in a drawing at work, and we found a very wonderful rug on sale. There were other rugs that we are keeping in mind for later - runners for the long hallway and beside the bed, another big area rug for the (mostly empty) dining room, and maybe another one for the living room. How would it look to overlap rugs? I'm going for funky and luxurious, so if it just sounds stupid, please let me know.

When we took the rug back to the apartment (and could we please take the van when we have big rugs to move? because we were driving down the street with a big roll of rug hanging out the window!), we got to work putting away the things that she hadn't put away yet - clothes and stuffed animals mostly and then unrolled the rug to spread on the floor and it looks so great! Rachel hung a dark purple knitted shawl over one of the curtain rods like a valance and I just need to finish the rose shawl to hang over the other one.

When we finished there, we brought her dirty laundry back to our house to wash, and we knitted and watched the Food Network until the Pretty Pretty Baby came over, and then Rachel went to class and left me with her.

The PPBaby was busy, I tell you what! She played with all of my Burger King Happy Meal toys, wore a hat, played with the dog's toys, kissed one of the cats (the one who hates us, which made it even funnier) and chased him behind the couch, ate (dry) Corn Pops cereal out of my favorite mug, dropped said mug on the ceramic tile floor but it didn't break, fed Corn Pops to the dog...oh my goodness, I'm exhausted. She's coming back tomorrow, but I'm not sure I will survive another day alone with that little whirlwind.

1:17 a.m. - 2005-04-21
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter