monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I have a busy day.

So I woke up this afternoon to find that Rich had taken Buffy to the vet and she did have a bladder infection (we diagnosed it ourselves after she spent all day Friday going out to pee every 15 minutes, and she peed in the house, too!). So she has antibiotics to take, and had gotten a shot, but since we had to pay the vet, I didn't feel like I could afford to go to the Fiber Festival!

I didn't have much time to think about that, because we had an unexpected visitor. A friend of Rachel from years ago was in the area and dropped by to see if we still lived here. Rachel was at work, so I chatted with him for a while and then sent him to say hi to her at Shopko. That was fun.

Then Kim's friend Evan came over to work on a project for their Drivers Ed class. They had to make videotaped demonstration of how to change a tire. Scott and his buddy David did the same project a few years ago, and back when Rachel had the class, she and her friend Patti made a video of what to do after an accident. Their film was of an accident involving a careless Barbie doll in her convertable who hit a guinea pig at an intersection. No guinea pigs were harmed in the making of the video, but they were a little disconcerted. Scott and David did the tire-changing demo.

While Kim and Evan planned their script, I called RA to see if she wanted to go out for a Diet Pepsi, and I went to pick her up. She has been sick with bronchitis for over a week now and is getting better very slowly. She is really dragging, but she wanted to get out of the house.

After we got a pop, I decided we needed to just drive out to have a look at the Fiber Fest, and I convinced RA that we could just wander through without buying anything. She had never seen so much wool before, and she loved the colors! The Fiber Fest is a production of the local spinners guild, so there is always a lot of unspun wool,somethign I am not interested in, but there's always yarn and needles, books and supplies.

We just passed through and looked at all of the vendors without buying until we got to the very last one. There was a booth with hats of a very interesting design, knitted in a wonderful soft yarn, in beautiful colors! The yarn was Cascade 220, which I have heard a lot about but never fondled before, and I loved it! So I bought a pattern book, and if you bought the book you got two skeins of yarn with it to make a hat! Who could pass that up? Not me! I bought a very cool sock pattern, too, and some notecards with pictures of paintings of women knitting. So yes, I spent some money, but not nearly as much as I usually do at the festival. After all, I am not made of stone, people!

When I got home Rich and the kids were filming in the driveway, so I parked quietly and went in the house to make something for dinner. I needed to use some ground beef that I bought earlier this week, so I made hamburgers. Not just ordinary hamburgers, though. I used a recipe that called for some chopped onion and garlic, a little milk and some bread crumbs. Those were some very yummy hamburgers!

Rachel came over after work and we knitted for a while, and there was some loose talk about going out to rent a movie, but that didn't happen. I was just too tired, and anyway, I haven't watched all of my Netflix movies.

I was tired and went back to bed and slept for a couple of hours, and when I woke up I took the dog for a walk, so I actually feel pretty good now. We walked over to Rachel's and back, which is about a mile. The dog smelled everything in Rachel's apartment and found it all quite fascinating!

So here I am back at work and I've got the shawl I started yesterday to work on, and the yarn I bought today, so I can cast on for one of the hats. I picked a dark olive green and a wonderful dark bronze-y color, and I'm going to wind the skeins and maybe just make a swatch...

11:22 p.m. - 2005-04-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter