monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And then there were none.

So it's my day off and I was soooo sleepy at 8:30, but I was knitting and watching the Food Network, and trying to stay up, because if I go to bed at 8:30, I'll wake up in a couple of hours and I won't go back to sleep. So I forced myself to stay awake and watch Alton Brown until about 9:30 and finally I said goodnight to everyone, which included Rachel, who was over here knitting, but said she was about to go home because she was tired, too, and I went up to bed and went to sleep immediately.

Of course I woke up a few hours later, when I am normally awake, and I had to get up to pee, and then I was hungry but I was ignoring that, but my nose was running - it's allergy season - so I came downstairs to get some kleenex to blow my nose. I caught a glimpse of the lawn through the window as I came down the stairs and imagined that Rachel's car was in the driveway and wished she was still here, living with us, and then I went into the kitchen, blew my nose, and was going to go back upstairs, but no, I thought I would go to the den and check my email.

Not turning on any lights, I crossed the living room and as I passed through the doorway of the den, a little voice said, "Hi, monkeymom," which is the flattering name my children call me, and I jumped slightly, because Rachel was laying on the couch in the dark! So that really was her car in the driveway!

She said that she went home and was reading an Agatha Christie book in bed, but she couldn't stop reading it and finally it made her so nervous in her big, dark, empty apartment that she decided to come over here. So she is sleeping in the den tonight. Heh.

It feels like I had a productive day, because the house is clean and the lawn is mowed, but the truth is that I didn't do either of those things, I paid other people to do them. I did, however, walk my own dog. Because that's just the kind of bundle of energy that I am.

I think I'll go read and knit now.

2:47 a.m. - 2005-04-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter