monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Walked and walked and walked...

Wow, I just got a call from a nurse in ICU who needed me to page both Maintainance and Security to come up and help move a patient. DANG! That must be a very big patient!

About five minutes later I had a call from a nurse on 3E, who needed Security to come up and help with a beligerant patient, so apparently people who are not me are busy tonight.

I am just sitting down here quietly in my little office, wearing a shirt that is A. not a t-shirt and B. not black. I feel so conspicuous, and also kind of not so comfortable. The shirt is bright coral and Rachel talked me into buying it about two weeks ago but I was afraid to wear it until tonight. It has a collar, which I am not used to, so it feels like it comes right up to my eyebrows, and it's stretchy, but it still feels stiff, not like the sweaters and t-shirts I normally wear. Okay, well, here I am in living COLOR. It's cold down here, too.

This is the second day in a row in which I have walked three miles and oh am I sore! My hips hurt, my ankles hurt, my old-lady bunion hurts. I wish I could go to bed, because I am tired and I ache all over! And 3 miles? The first mile, not so bad, I'm walking, I'm breathing, everything is fine, look at me, I'm exersizing! The second mile, well, I'm panting and walking slower, but still able to talk comfortably with Rachel and my muscles feel used but that's a good thing and then that third mile, oh my goodness, when the pain in my hips and the pain in my feet and oh yes my toe, and I can just gasp for breath, and pray for death or a ride home as I am no longer walking, but plodding, barely able to lift my legs for the next step...

And then tonight Rachel mentions that next week we can do the 4 mile walk. Umm, perhaps not.

Knitting: finishing the last of the three socks that I planned to finish on the weekend.

Started the heel shaping on the sock for Shelley, the one on the size ZERO needles! The yarn is so thin I had to use the zeros to get a good fabric!

My home/TV/DVD knitting is the sapphire shawl, and I worked on it tonight while I watched Real Women Have Curves. LOVED IT!! Subtitles would have been nice, but Rachel was translating all the Spanish for me.

Tomorrow we start watching movies that I got from Netflix just because Steve Zahn is in them. He's Rachel's new boyfriend, you know.

11:49 p.m. - 2005-05-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter