monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I say dingflanger again.

So last week I ordered Folk Shawls from Amazon.com - actually re-ordered it because I ordered it before but I must have done something wrong because apparently I ordered Folk Vests (I already own that one), so I had to send it back and now I'm waiting to get Folk Shawls! I want it NOW! I have the patience of a fruitfly!

I've finished two of the Truly Tasha shawls from Knitnet and they were so much fun to do that I want to make more! I started a third one, and I'm enjoying it, but I think I'm ready for something a little more challenging.

That's why I ordered the Folk Shawls book and I'm so eager to get it that I went looking online over the weekend, just to find pictures of some of the shawls from the book, and that's how I found that there's an email list for people making shawls from it! Of couse I signed right up for the list and I've been reading some of the messages and some one mentioned that she is taking an online class in which she is making a lace shawl.

So I went to the website for Needlework University and I thought about registering for the class, but then I talked myself out of it. I'll be getting my Folk Shawls book in a few days, I have a couple of other things to finish before I start something new, blah blah woof woof, and so I didn't sign up for the class. That was yesterday, and I felt very noble for not spending more money on yarn and fiber pursuits.

Well today I was sleeping bady all morning, what with my inconsiderate lawnmowning neighbors and the cold breeze from the open door to the balcony, and then Kelly called at about noon and asked if she woke me up, and I said Yes, but she didn't really care. She asked if I could watch the pretty busy baby today so she could go over and take one of her finals and I said I would, so that was the end of sleeping and I dragged out of bed and drank a pop to wake up.

Kelly dropped off the baby, who was just as happy and into everything as she ever is. At one point she went upstairs and when I dragged myself out of my chair and went up to see what she was doing, she had crawled onto my bed and the cats were fleeing in terror. It was actually pretty funny.

I took the dog and the baby outside for a while to amuse them. Kim practiced putting on the lawn and baby Cassidy helped by gathering up golf balls for her, sometimes before Kim had a chance to putt them. We were probably outside for 30 minutes, which is about 25 minutes more than I enjoy being outdoors, and when we got back in the house, I sat down to check my email with Cassidy crawling up on the chair next to me and fiddling with the printer, pulling things out of desk drawers and playing with an abandoned (PC) mouse she found there. By the way, the ear buds on my iPod are too big for her little ears - they won't stay in.

As a result of baby-induced exhaustion I succumbed to the need for retail therapy and registered for the lace shawl class online! I have been working on it ever since, except when I had to stop to take a nap, but I hated to put it down! I'm using some wool and mohair blend yarn that is reeking of lanolin (the best smell in the world). I bought it at Mary's when she had the spinning wheel shop and sold yarn for some of her Spinners Guild friends. The yarn is dyed a dusty purple and is called Grape. All I want to do is knit this shawl and smell my hands!

Because I am really incapable of reading directions carefully, I had to rip out and start over almost as soon as I started, and then later I had almost finished the first chart of 24 rows when I had to rip back about 10 of those rows and re-do them, but that's minimal ripping - that's nothing compared to the problems I had with the Wedding Shawl of Death!

*****

Scott work story: He has to go in and tend to clogged bathrooms or sinks in the Ladies rooms at the college, and he says that women and girls will just step over his signs that say Restroom Closed indicating that work is being done. I said that sometimes you just have to pee and the next closest Ladies room is too far away! He said, "Yes, that's what they all think," and that's why he puts up the Hazardous Chemicals In Use sign because only at hazard of life and limb will women stay out of the restrooms.

He says that men are different - they respect that boundary of work being done. They think like, "Oh, something's being done. I'd better keep out." Even if there's no warning sign and he's just in there working, they'll pause when they enter and ask if it's okay to use the restroom. Well, Scott, here's the thing, they're all just insecure about the size of their dingflanger and they are afraid someone might catch a glimpse and laugh.

12:01 a.m. - 2005-05-17
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter