monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Did I mention that Yoda looks like my grandma?

Well, that was fun. Scott got here Friday night, and left Sunday morning. In between, we ate, laughed, went to see Star Wars, and made the cats "talk" with funny voices.

We're thinking of getting Patsy shaved, as we do every summer when he gets all matted, and Scott suggested that we should call 1-800-WHAT-THE-CRAP-IS- WRONG-WITH-YOU? to ask for advice:

Operator: 1-800-What-the-crap-is-wrong-with-you? How may I help you?

Caller: I'm wondering if I should get my cat shaved because he's matted, or if I should just brush him.

Operator: Is he a long haired cat?

Caller: Yes, but he's matted!

Operator: Please hold while I look that up.
(Long pause...)

Operator: (politely) Ma'am, what the crap is wrong with you?Of course you should brush that cat!

Caller: Oh, okay then. Thank you.


And that is the kind of thing that makes us laugh so hard that it scares the cats out of the room.

We went to the 10 p.m. show on Saturday to see Star Wars. Rich was planning to go, too, but there was a big emergency at work and he was there for hours, and got home after midnight, about the same time we did.

We went to the later show because when Rachel and I went to the late show to see Sahara last week, we were delighted to find that there are fewer people and none of them are children! We decided that we must always go to the late shows!

The movie was, well, I won't bother reviewing it because you've already seen it, I'm sure. I will just say that I could not pay attention during the opening scenes with the sky fighting, because it was too much to follow, and then later when I was able to focus I noticed a beautiful pair of sofas, one on each side of the room, covered in leather, with big curved arms and gorgeous lamps that looked like they were built onto the arms. I had a lot of questions about things I saw, like, with all the available technology, you'd think Padme would have known she was having twins. Didn't she ever go to an OB check? Obi-wan didn't get an inkling of it with the force? And how did she come up with those names on a moment's notice? Oh wait, that explains why she named the girl Leia - no time to think about it.

Knitting report:

Still working on the Wool Peddler Shawl, but when I started doing the lace pattern today Rachel had to help me figure it out. I think I understand how it all works now, but you'd think with both written directions and a chart, that it would have been easier to understand. Maybe it's just me. Yeah, probably.

The Triangle Lace Shawl has not been entirely cast aside while I work on the WPS; I did a few rows while I read email and knitblogs on Friday.

The sapphire-blue Truly Tasha shawl is resting while I work on the other two.

Finished the heel flap on a gray sock in Paton's Kroy, but I didn't want to work on the gusset during the movie, so I left it behind and cast on during the pre-movie advertisements at the theater and then knitted about 4 inches of the cuff during the movie. I was using some new (ugly) rainbow striped Kroy that I bought on eBay last week. Worked on that sock a little more during church this morning. I'm planning to give these to a friend, so I'd like to hurry and finish them. They'll be my work knitting for a couple of days.

3:46 a.m. - 2005-05-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter