monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which life sucks, and lace makes it worse.

It has been a rough 24 hours! Work pissed me off last night, so I had to fume about that and could hardly go to sleep in the morning. I finally got up and took a Tylenol PM - just one, because two is too much and will give me a hangover. I read a book in bed (Death and the Dancing Footman by Ngaio Marsh) until I could fall asleep, but I woke up at 1 and was afraid I would miss something, so I got out of bed, very groggy, and dragged downstairs to see what was going on.

Rich was getting ready to go to Culvers for hamburgers, but there wasn't any Diet Pepsi in the house! Out of self-preservation he ran out to get some pop first! When he got back he said he was too hungry to go out for food, so he made a grilled cheese sandwich and went out to mow the lawn.

Rachel and Kim were feeling deprived because they didn't get their burgers, so they decided to make the Culver's run anyway. Rachel is an adult over 21 with a driver's license, so it was okay for her to ride and let Kim drive with her permit, and if someone else wants to drive with Kim, that's fine with me!

They arrived home safely, with food, and after I ate a Reuben sandwich, I went back to bed. I was still tired!

When I woke up, Rachel was watching the Kim Possible marathon, Kim was writing chapter 5 of her Yazoo novel, and Rich was gone. He had gone to his office to do something and it turned into something else, and he didn't get home until, well, he was still there when I left for work at 10:45!

So we didn't go to the movie like we planned. Rachel and I tried to watch one of the Netflix we had, but it was terrible, although full of familiar faces, and Elijah Wood was a very attractive young hit man, but we had to stop watching it because of the terribleness of it all. It stunk. So that you can save yourselves pain, I will tell you the name of the movie, allowing you to avoid ever watching it. It's called Chain of Fools. Don't go there.

We watched some cooking shows on the Food Network, and knitted a little, but you know I'm working on the Triangle Lace Shawl, and I have a hard time with lace, so I messed it up. I've made quite a few mistakes in the course of this shawl and if I couldn't fix them right away, I ignored them, so it's not so much a lace shawl as it is a big knotted mess with the occasional bit of lace. Today I found a spot that was very messed up, and required a lot of ripping back if it was to be fixed, and oh man, I am so sick of ripping out rows of this shawl, that I just threw it down and declared that I was going to give it up. I think I threatened to cut it up into tiny pieces and throw them out on the lawn for birds to line their nests with.

Rachel, who is good at lace, and just memorizes the patterns so she doesn't have to follow charts, picked it up and fooled around with it for a while, a long while; long enough for me to make a batch of spaghetti carbonara to reward her for her hard labor on the shawl, and she sort of fixed it. It's not perfect, not like the rippling shawl of lacy perfection that she herself is working on, but it's fixed decently, and is no worse than any other part. It actually looks okay if you don't look too closely.

Then we ate spaghetti carbonara and took the dog for a walk because Rich still wasn't home. After that we went to the grocery store, and then we worked together on doing the dishes before I came to work.

So the day started out not so good, but now my shawl is fixed, I cooked dinner, and did the dishes. Kim finished chapter 5, Rachel made plans for tomorrow, and we are all happy. Except the dog, who hasn't seen her Dad for hours!

11:29 p.m. - 2005-05-30
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter