monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Do you remember the little Japanese House Mouse?

What was I thinking? I need to dial 1-800- well, you know the number. You know that lacy baby sweater I was thinking of making? I found some yarn in the stash, found a pattern to go with it, and started knitting with fingering weight yarn on size 1 needles.

Oh my goodness, it was lovely, but it was taking forever! Not only was it taking forever, but I had to keep looking at the pattern, and counting stitches for the lace, and I couldn't read my book at the same time, so finally I put it down. I started a little cardigan with a very simple bit of lace at the front edges, a cardigan that I have made at least 30 times before and can do without thinking. Aaaah. It feels so much better. I'll save the lacy, labor-intensive sweater for when I have grandchildren!

Ooh, ooh! I got something so cool in the mail today! I bought some sock yarn on eBay and the seller was out of it (!) so she offered to send me some stitch markers instead and they arrived today! I love them! I immediately put them on the top-down raglan baby sweater that I was knitting, and OMG, they are so beautiful; it's like earrings for your knitting! I need more of these because I want to use them all the time! No more paperclips! I must have more beaded stitch markers!

When I got to work tonight I did a google search for How to Make Beaded Stitch Markers, and printed some helpful instructions. There were many sites, including some on eBay, that sold stitch markers, so I may just buy them; they're really not expensive, and I don't need another hobby that requires supplies and storage of supplies.

I also searched online for bookweights, which is a flat bit of leather stuffed with something heavy, like BBs, to lay across your book to hold it open while your hands are busy (knitting). The first ones I found were very expensive, but I found some later that were less than a third of that price, and also a pattern to knit a tube of wool and then felt it by shrinking it in the washer and stuff it with the BBs, so I might try to do that myself, just for fun.

I'm going to go knit and read now. I'll be using the telephone receiver to hold my book open, but I've got my beautiful stitch markers to give me joy. And when I get a bookweight to hold my book open - is this not happiness?

1:36 a.m. - 2005-06-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter