monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am knitting a big wool shawl while sitting in front of the air-conditioner.

Kim is the golfing woman now, what with the three lessons a week she is signed up for now. She has her private lesson, a group lesson, and I just added junior league golf on Monday mornings. She's enjoying it, and I want her to get all the playing in that she can this summer, because apparently the rest of the golf team has been golfing since they were toddlers!

It's hot and humid here, v. miserable. Rich is moving stuff up to what used to be Rachel's room to make an office for himself, but I don't know why he wants to do that; that room is HOT in the summer! Doesn't he remember that Rachel used to sleep downstairs or in the guest room on the worst nights? Apparently he does not. So today they moved an old recliner from the basement up three flights of stairs to the new office, then they took an old dresser over to Rachel's place.

Rachel spent the morning cleaning and rearranging furniture at her apartment and her bedroom looks so cozy and inviting now. It's a huge room, and the way she has the furniture placed now makes it look even bigger, but it's a comfortable roominess, not like a big empty space.

Kim is concentrating all of her energy on finishing Final Fantasy X, so she has been playing that all day in the living room with the air-conditioner on, except when she took a break for a golf lesson and to practice the harp. I sat in a chair and knitted the Triangle Lace Shawl, which is nearing completion! Yay!

I have several projects that I want to work on, and one that I need to finish. I have to get the baby sweater done before the shower on Saturday. I won't be here for the shower, though, so maybe it's not so urgent to finish it by then. I can give it to her the next week. That will allow me to work on some of the other things I'm doing...

For one thing, I have the TL Shawl to work on. Just one more repeat of the lace pattern and then I can start the border. It's really fun to knit and it's got some mistakes, but I'm hoping they won't be apparent to the untrained eye.

I saw a Prisoner of Azkaban Gryffindor scarf on someone's knitblog, and it was so beautiful that it made me want to work on mine. I stopped because I wasn't sure that it was going to look right after I tried to make some changes so I could knit it with DK weight yarn. Last night after I saw the inspiring photo on that blog, I thought about making a partial scarf with the called-for yarn, just to see if the length of the stripes will match my adaption. Karin gave me some yarn leftovers from her Slytherin scarves, so I brought them to work with me tonight and I'm going to make a big scarf swatch!

And that is why I don't have time to work on the baby sweater, but the whole body of it is done already. I finished the body last night, and didn't have needles with me to do the sleeves. The sleeves won't take long, so I might just do those in the car this weekend on the trip to Michigan. I can take the POA Gryffindor scarf to work on when they are done. IF the swatch I'm making matches the 12" or so of scarf that I have done, that is resting in a bag in the closet of the yarn room. If the swatch proves that my adaptation is wrong, well, there will be ripping and tears. The really happy thing about this swatch is that it will be the start of a POA Slytherin scarf! Just need to order some more yarn as there is only enough of Karin's leftovers to make about a foot of scarf.

What else is in the knitting works? Hmm, the next project in the Folk Shawls Knitalong is the Sampler Shawl, and I have the yarn for that, so I could do that one, or start the Bird's Nest Shawl. I don't know about that one, I'll be using the yarn that I bought for the miserable Wedding Shawl. Is that yarn cursed? I'm not sure.

I have two socks, not mates, on the needles, and plans to knit a felted bookweight, too. There are other things I'm thinking about knitting, so I guess it's a case of So Much Knitting, Not Enough Time!

11:52 p.m. - 2005-06-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter