monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And he wouldn't spit on my ass if it was on fire.

So I spent hours (well, it seemed like hours) on the phone and on the internets today, figuring out what I want to do about traveling to Michigan to meet my sisters on Friday. We are going to make a pilgrimage (definition: "a journey to a holy place from motives of devotion, to obtain supernatural help, or as a form of penance." Not so much holy or from devotion, but definately a form of penance.) to Up North to visit my Aunt Diane, who is very cool, and to say hi to our father, about whom I am ambivilant.

The first plan, and you know my plans remain fluid like a glass of water right up until the moment of departure, was that Rich, Kim and I, plus Buffy, would drive to Michigan, where Rich, Kim and Buffy would stay with Rich's parents and I would go on with my sisters to Up North.

Then Kim said she would be out of town this weekend for Youth Conference. So it was just Rich and me and the dog, going to Michigan, where Rich and Buffy would stay with his parents. I wondered how long it would take for Rich to decide that he didn't want to spend the weekend sitting around his parent's house, watching golf on TV and listening to their anti-Bush chat. It took two days, because today he said he thought it would be silly for him to go with me, and he would rather stay home.

Okay, then I asked Rachel to go with me, because the thing is, it's a 6 and a half hour drive, and I don't want to do it by myself. I could, but ugh, why would I want to? I hate driving, and I hate doing things by myself. It would mean getting back late on Sunday and not having time for a nap before work, too.

Sarah suggested that I fly, and that was a possibility, but while I was looking up flights and discussing arrival times, Rachel said she would like to take a road trip, so we're driving. That's fine with me - I don't like to fly, anyway.

So there's our plan. I still don't want to make the trip (none of us do), and Rich was telling me all the reasons why I shouldn't bother, the most astonishingly true reason being that if I was dying, my dad wouldn't bother to come and visit me, but I am still going to go.

I'm going to go and have fun with my daughter, and enjoy a trip with my sisters, and I hope we can find a damn yarn shop on the way, because Rachel is totally counting on it.

11:55 p.m. - 2005-06-08
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter