monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I had a long, long day.

It was a long day today, what with never sleeping, and a lot of phone calls in which I talked to most of my living relatives. Except Diana, who is on vacation in Alaska when I need her! She is so selfish!

I was supposed to drive to Michigan with Rachel, leaving Friday morning, meeting up with Inger and Sarah, and then going on Up North to visit my dad, but suddenly it all changed, and now we are going to Michigan, but not Up North, as Dad is being discharged from the hospital and Ed is bringing him down to be in a nearby nursing home. So Rachel and I will stay at Rich's parent's house, and Sarah, who is coming from Virginia, will stay with a friend, and we'll still meet up with Inger to visit Dad, but we won't have to drive the additonal hours to see him Up North. Whew!

In knitting news, I have finished the body of the Triangle Lace Shawl, and started the border, so it's almost finished! Still working on the Slytherin scarf - did I mention this before? I just checked back on previous entries, and I see that I did say something about it, but I didn't say that it's turning out to be very pleasant, mindless knitting (my favorite kind) and that it looks cool! I don't have anything like enough yarn to make the whole scarf, because Karin gave me just a couple of leftover balls to get me started, so I will have to buy more. Yesterday I looked around in the yarn room and found a ball of dark green that is a very close match (but it's another yarn entirely), so I added that in when I ran out of Karin's green, and it is slighter heavier yarn, but it's not noticeable. I only have the one ball, though, so I'll have to go to Verna's to look for more, and I hope she still has some, because it's discontinued! I think what is making this fun is that it's worsted weight yarn instead of the DK I used for all of my previous HP scarves, and it moves along so quickly with the heavier yarn on bigger needles! I love it!

It's 4:30 a.m., and I'm wide awake! I'm going to go knit on this scarf and read until people (and dogs) start waking up.

4:20 a.m. - 2005-06-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter