monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am not a party girl.

Nothing very exciting happened today, except the yarn that Rachel bought when she went to DeKalb. Oh, and RA is home from her trip to visit her sister in Oklahoma, and was playing an annoying CD of 50s music in her car, with a country flavor, that she also sang along with. Ugh.

Took Kim to her golf team pracice today and met the golf coach, who is very cute and friendly. Rachel and Kim went to the group lesson yesterday, and it was Rachel's first golf experience. She said her arms were sore for the rest of the day, and today she was still moaning about it. What a whiner.

It was Rich's company's 4th birthday party, so I went with him, and we made Kim go too, so I didn't have to suffer alone. His boss's house is beautiful and new, all of the furniture looks new, the prints on the walls are lovely, and Kim has a crush on the large-screen TV. I noticed they didn't have any books. How can a person have no books? Well, maybe they have some that I just didn't see - I didn't go into every room. I just thought it was weird.

Almost everyone that I talked to there turned out to be a golfer. Apparently the sport is more popular than previously believed. In fact, his boss's wife has recently hit her first hole-in-one and has a newspaper clipping on the fridge about it. It was the only reading material I spotted.

So we stayed for an hour or more, and I was dying to go home and sleep, but just when I thought we were getting away, someone encouraged Rich to stay and eat cake. I didn't want any damn cake, I wanted to go home, so I stayed outside on the deck and tried not to listen to the people out there who were talking about remodeling their kitchen.

I watched a rabbit hopping down a nearby path through a field, then I looked at the flower bed next to the house, and then I just got tired of it all and walked down the driveway to where our car was parked across the road, got in, and tried to call Diana on my cell phone to complain about it. She didn't answer, so I called Grandma instead to see what was going on with the heart thing that Uncle Joe mentioned in his email.

By the time I got done listening to first Shirley and then Grandma tell me about Grandma's health, Rich and Kim were getting into the car, smelling like cake.

Took a nap for a couple of hours when we got home, then went for a walk with Rachel, and came to work. Where I am knitting with the beautiful yarn that Rachel bought. Cotton Fleece, in a wonderful shade of denimy blue.

3:45 a.m. - 2005-06-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter