monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Shop till you drop pray for death.

I didn't work last night, so I was up early this morning and I went with my friend Shelley to Rockford to shop for a Mother-of-the-Bride dress. Her daughter's wedding is in about 9 days, and she needed a dress and a few things that were on her list for the reception. OH MY GOODNESS, she shopped me into the ground!

Shelley is a tiny little thing, and she just keeps going and going, like the Energizer Bunny! It almost killed me. I invited RA to go with us, because I know how it is to shop with Shelley; she just keeps going and going and never stops to eat or get a Diet Pepsi, or rest your feet, and I wanted RA along to help me enjoy the trip, so it wouldn't be so much like a forced march! With RA there, we had two of us needing foot breaks and cold drinks, so it was all much better than the last time I went shopping with Shelley, last summer when she needed a lot of knitting needles and crochet hooks to teach fiberarts in the craft tent at girl's camp.

We went from one end of the mall to the other, looking for a very dressy dress, one that wasn't too old ladyish or too casual. Finally, there was only one store left, and that's where we found the perfect dress! RA actually found the sparkly, dressy-type dresses in that store, so she was the hero! So Shelley was happy, but here's a tip, ladies, when you are shopping with two fat friends, and you are trying on your size 6 dress, it's just mean to ask if it makes you look fat. (My answer: Yes it does!)

We stopped for lunch to celebrate, and then we had to go to oh, about 5 more stores, including Sam's Club, which is just a huge warehouse full of stuff, and we walked for miles. At a couple of the stores, RA and I waited in the car and just let Shelley run in, and it was nice to just sit and NOT SHOP for a few minutes.

We finally got home at about 5 p.m., after we shopped for the entire day! I have a frozen pizza in the oven, and after I eat, I'm going to go take a nap in my room before work. I'm exhausted.

1:23 p.m. - 2005-06-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter