monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

No further communication from Planet Crazy.

So after the drama last week of being forbidden to enter the city of Omaha, what will this week bring? I'm afraid that there will be nothing to rival that...

Actually things are just perking along slowly at our house. People are tired, naps are taken, and I blame the ennervating effects of the miserable humid, hot weather. There is nothing to be done about it, either, it just has to be endured. So we sit on the floor in the living room, where there is a window air-conditioning unit, and Rachel and I play two-handed Euchre while Kim reads web sites.

Kim will be away from her web sites for three days this week, and all of next week. I wonder how she will survive. She is leaving in the morning for a three-day canoe trip in Wisconsin and I forced her to pack in the afternoon instead of letting her put it off until midnight like she was planning. If she doesn't pack until midnight, there is no time to make a run to the store for items that she will suddenly NEED and not have! Only one trip to the store was required this time, although there is still time in the morning for her get her dad to stop somewhere for a supply of junk food that she can stash in her duffle bag.

When Kim comes home from a trip of this kind, she has to spend several hours in front of the TV, watching the Cartoon Network to restore the balance of Alpha Waves in her brain. She's always been like that.

Rachel will be working the morning shift all week while her store changes over to a new computerized system of recordkeeping. With Kim gone and Rachel at work I expect to get some good sleep this week because I won't have to be afraid I'm missing something! I hate sleeping when the kids are home - I'm not sure why, it's not like they do anything while I'm sleeping.

Knitting news - Well, not so much. I finished the grass green Kroy socks, and am working on sock #2 of the tweedy gray Kroy socks. Started a sock in a lovely muted bluey green called Spruce, also a Kroy yarn. I just like working on socks. They are simple but satisfying, because when they are done you can just put them on and wear them. When I started the Spruce sock I was thinking of using a texture pattern, but after 3 rows I decided it was too much work. I just want to knit something simple while I read.

Reading: God in Concord by Jane Langton, a murder mystery. I've read other books by this author that I like better, but this is okay.

Also reading Wives and Daughters by Elizabeth Gaskell. Kind of Jane Austen-y, but not as witty. I'm reading it on Project Gutenberg while I knit at work.

2:56 a.m. - 2005-06-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter