monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I bought new phones and I do not play The Sims. Ever.

Rachel called and woke me up this morning to say that she had just dropped Kim off at her golf lesson and that I would need to pick her up afterward because Rachel needed to go in to work early. She said later that it was wild there today! Everyone is getting their back-to-school eye exams and buying glasses!

I had time to get a shower and check my email (v. important!) before Kim called for a ride home. I hadn't eaten breakfast yet, and was hungry, so I took Kim out for a Jr. Whopper so I could have one, too.

We had to make a stop at the grocery store - we are out of everything - so we parked there, and as we were walking in, Kim pointed out that she was wearing her golf shoes. I told her we would look for some flipflops in the grocery store and she expressed some doubt that we would find any, but since I am the mom, I was right; there were flipflops! She changed out of her shoes right there in the aisle and wore the flipflops.

She had plans to go to her friend Sando's birthday festivities, which included a trip to a public pool, and she thought she should paint her toenails so she would look cute at the pool in her bare feet (and the miracle flipflops found by me!). Diana painted Kim's toenails last week when she was here, but that was all chipped and anyway, her toenails were long like talons!

So I gave Kim a pedicure and then she packed a straw tote bag (that I found in the back of my closet) with her pool stuff, and I dropped her off at Sando's.

It was a little dull at home, what with Rachel and Rich at work (not that Rich entertains me anyway) and Kim gone having fun, so I decided it was the perfect afternoon to go phone shopping. We have had these cell phones for two years, the contract is up, and yes, okay, I just wanted a cuter phone. With a camera, like Diana!

So off I went to the cell phone store, and spent an hour there with a very cute and pleasant young man, picking out phones and talking about the hours he spends playing The Sims. I told him about how Kim used to spend many hours on that game, too, and he explained to me how much fun it is, and it really does sound cool, but I cannot even start to spend time on something like that! I'm too obssesive, and I already waste too much time on the internet, I don't need a reason to sit in front of the computer MORE!

And then, la la la, back to my house where I entered phone numbers from my old phone into my new phone, and can't someone write a program that does that for you? Because it took over an hour! Damn! After that I skimmed through the little book that came with the phone and tried to do a couple of things, but by then I had a headache, so I took some Vitamin Advil and watched Seinfeld reruns instead.

When Rich got home from work he took the dog out for a walk and was back in about a minute, because when it is this hot? Dogs? They don't like to get all sweaty so they don't want to walk, they just want to pee in the yard and come back in the house to lay down.

I showed Rich his cool new phone, but he wasn't as excited as one would wish. He never uses his anyway - only about twice a year when he drives to Chicago alone because otherwise he has me with him and I have a phone, so why would he need his?

You know, now that I think about it, I am going to lend his phone to Rachel until she gets a new one, because hers is a piece of crap that keeps cutting out and dropping her calls and her getting mad and throwing it didn't help the reception one bit. Yes, this is a good idea because then she can just give her temporary number to people she likes and that doesn't include Dave Asshat, who doesn't need to be calling her and making her mad anyway - like last week when he called and wanted to know why she didn't call to let him know she was going to be in St. Louis that weekend and when she said it was because she didn't want to see him, and asked if he wanted her to call and say, Hey, I'm going to be in town this weekend, but I don't want to see you, he said yes, because that is the kind of idiot he is. So that would work out well for her, and she would also be using a phone that gets good reception in our house, so she doesn't have to make calls from out on the front steps! Her service is through another company that offers good plans but gets bad service in our area, which is why I don't have that service. So yeah, that's what I'll do.

Kim has a new phone, too, and it's good, but also unfortunate, because the new phone was working with her number, but the phone she was carrying in her purse? Not so much, because the service was switched over to the new phone, so when I tried to call her at almost-11 to see when she wanted us to pick her up, I heard a ringing noise in the kitchen, where her new phone was sitting in a box on the counter. Sando gave her a ride back home later, so that was good, but apparently there was no snogging, which does not entertain me at all.

So that's my day, and I'm happy to be at work tonight because it's about 20 degrees cooler here than it was at my house!

2:01 a.m. - 2005-07-23
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter