monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

There's a hundred thousand Frenchmen in New Orleans

Our ancient waterbed is falling apart, and I am lately very careful about getting in bed; I'm afraid it's going to collapse! So Rich told me this morning that if I would sleep somewhere else today, he would start draining the bed when he came home for lunch.

After he went to work, Rachel (she woke up when she heard us "discussing" the bed) and I went upstairs to find someplace else for me to sleep - Kim's room? No, she has a good mattress, but her room is very messy and it makes me mad just looking at it. The futon in Rich's office? Hmm, a possibility. Finally I decided to sleep on the bed in the yarn room (aka Diana's room), but before I went to bed, I showed Rachel where the problem was with the frame of the waterbed. We were both sleepy, so we lay on the floor to inspect the bed, and then just we lay there, thinking about sleeping, before we went to bed.

I think maybe we don't need a new bed, we just need to put this one back together. The pieces aren't broken, they have just shifted. The bed has been sitting in one place for almost 11 years, with our family and friends sitting on it to sleep, talk, read, play games and watch TV. (We used to practically live in the bedroom for a while.)

I slept badly in the yarn room because I didn't have a clock, so I was afraid I would oversleep in the afternoon and not be at the school to pick up Kim.

Kim's schedule is really busy now, as she has seminary in the morning before school, and golf afterward. I tried to send her to bed early tonight, but she was up in her room doing homework in bed when I came to work. I hope she can catch up on her sleep this weekend.

We were thinking about going to Michigan this weekend to pick up some boxes of books from my parent's house that my brother is storing in his living room, but I don't know if that is going to happen now. Rich has the bed to fix and a job to finish for a client, Kim is exhausted, and so is Rachel, so we might just have to stay home and sleep. I hope I have a bed.

I started another shawl on Monday because the one I started last week was going so well! I think I have this lace thing figured out! I was using the Flower Basket Shawl pattern from Interweave Knits Fall 2004, and it was going well as far as following the chart, but the yarn? It was not right. I was using some Alpaca and silk blend from Knitpicks (I think it's called Shimmer), and it's varigated. It is soft and lovely but the color was making it hard to see the lace pattern!

I brought the shawl with me to work last night, and I was still undecided about it. I showed it to the afternoon operator and she thought it looked okay, but still... So I blocked it by getting it wet in the sink in the ladies room, spreading it out (and I had only done the lower basket pattern, about 50 rows, so it wasn't a huge piece), and then I spread it out on the back of an upholstered chair and pinned it down with tacks from the bulletin board. I put the chair in the server room, which has been overheating, so there are fans running back there all night. It was dry in a couple of hours and I looked at the lace carefully, and it just wasn't right. It didn't show the pattern enough. Partly because the varigated colors are distracting, but also because the yarn is too soft! The pattern just didn't show up like it should. So I ripped it out.

I still want to make a shawl with that yarn, though, so tonight while I was weeping while I watched the reporting on the destruction in Louisiana and Mississippi, I cast on for the Birds Nest Shawl in the Folk Shawls book. I have only knit one row, because I have to finish the toe of the hot pink Kroy sock so I can give the pair to RA for her birthday on Saturday!

The toe was almost done when I realized that I had made a mistake at the start of the toe shaping, so I tore it back and started over and I should have it done in another hour. If I stop typing now.

4:11 a.m. - 2005-09-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter