monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pssst, wanna buy a mattress?

I'm not sleeping well this week. It goes in cycles, I have a good week, then a mediocre week, a bad week, then a good week... This week I have been waking up at 11 for one reason or another (the phone, the door closing) and then I can't go back to sleep. I have been able to sleep later in the afternoon, but I'd rather be up then, so it's not as good as sleeping all day.

I'm sleeping on a pyramid of mattresses since Rich drained the waterbed. He put the Queensize air mattress inside the frame of the bed, which leaves about a 6-inch gap on all sides (the perfect place to set a can of soda, as RA pointed out), then he put the slightly smaller futon mattress on top of that. It's like an Aztec step pyramid! I hope I'm soaking up some Pyramid Power by sleeping on it.

There was a sign at the end of the street last night, advertising a Queensize mattress set for $150, so I called the number and talked to someone today who says he is storing them in his warehouse for a friend who bought out a mattress store. Does that sound too much like buying them off the back of a truck? Anyway, I'm going to try to make a time to meet him at the warehouse tomorrow with RA and her husband's truck, to buy a mattress. We had agreed to meet tomorrow at 3, but I was half-asleep at the time, and later realized that isn't going to work out as I have to pick up Kim at 2:30, drop her at the golf course at 3:15 for her match, and his warehouse is an hour away. I left a voicemail for him tonight, so I hope to hear from him again tomorrow. Unless he's arrested for having a warehouse full of stolen mattresses.

My Diamond Fantasy Shawl went to hell yesterday, and I ripped back several rows. Later I picked up the stitches that were hanging off of the needle after I threw it on the floor in fury, and Kim, trying to helpful, jumped on it for me, and today I think I've figured out where I am, so I can go on from here. It looks good, so I don't want to give up on it!

As a respite from the hellacious DF Shawl, I started a sweater for Kim using the lime green wool that I bought in DeKalb when Diana was here. It's a pattern from the Summer 2005 Interweave Knits, but I can't think of the name right now. I left my workbag at home tonight, so I don't have it with me to check the title. Rachel is making one for herself and it's an easy relaxing pattern of stockinette stitch with some interesting shaping details to make it interesting to work on, so we're having a Knit-A-Long on this one.

Since I forgot my workbag tonight, I'm working on a sock that I was carrying in my purse. I'm going to give this pair to the photographer who took the engagement photos of Rachel and Biscuits and then, when she found out they broke up, she wouldn't let me pay her. She also said that she thought Rachel could do better. Do better? Hell, yeah, she couldn't do worse! Anyway, I wanted to give her something, and since she won't take money, I'm going to give her some handmade socks. Who wouldn't want those?

3:29 a.m. - 2005-09-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter