monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I deny that I am an old dear.

Kim's first day of driving herself to seminary and to school and golf practice went well. She said that when she parked in front of the house after school, the mailman was shocked to see that she is old enough to drive!

In other news, apparently today is National Talk Like a Pirate Day. I told Scott about it tonight and he said he wished he had known earlier because it would have made his whole day better if he had been able to tell someone to hoist the mizzen. I said I don't even know what a mizzen is, and he said, "That's because ye be a landlubber!"

I thought Scott would be more impressed than he was when I told him that Diana's husband is making his own Biodiesel fuel, but he scoffed! I told him it's real, and that TJ is using some leftover vegetable oil from someone's deep-fried Thanksgiving turkey, and Scott asked what else was involved besides the grease, the light of a full moon and a virgin sacrifice? I googled it and read him some of the available information, but I don't think he took it seriously. He suggested the use of the philosopher's stone to aid in the process.

I wrote a journal entry yesterday but it got lost in the internets, and I was too annoyed to write it over again. It was just about my new-found love for driving a golf cart, and how funny it was when Kim's cart was behind me, and she thought I was being too slow to start up and drive to the next hole, so she called up to us and said, "Come on, old dears, let's go!" It was funny, but also insulting! I always say old dears when referring to the elderly people driving slow in front of me, or clogging up the aisles in the supermarkets, so she's heard that phrase plenty. Bertha, who was riding in my cart, said she didn't mind being called an old dear, and I didn't point out that she IS one!

Knitting:

Still working on the lavender baby sweater, and nothing else until it's finished!

11:29 p.m. - 2005-09-19
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter