monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The name of the book is The Michael Innes Treasury.

I just got to work and when I came in, the office was so hot that I immediately looked at the thermostat and saw that Trisha, the day operator who works my weekends, had cranked the heat up to 80 again! I said, "I hate her! Why does she always turn up the heat like that?" as I turned it down to 65 to cool it off, and the afternoon girl, who is such a non-entity I am not even going to bother to mention her name, just stared at me blankly like she always does. No wonder everyone thinks I'm such a frantic bitch. I am always shooting my mouth off, and not everyone realizes that it doesn't mean anything. Well, as Diana says, Fuck 'em if they can't take a joke.

I slept weirdly today - slept until about 1, then got up and wandered around the house, thinking that I should go back to sleep, and finally I took a Tylenol PM and got in bed to read until I felt sleepy. I couldn't find the book I was reading at work last night, so I thought I must have left it in the car, and I called RA instead. She said she was in the grocery store but she had just gotten there, so she left the store and came to pick me up to shop with her. I don't know why, but we almost always go shopping together. It's just gotten to be a habit. So I got out of bed, dressed and went to the grocery store and RA filled me in on the tacky wedding she went to in the morning while we shopped. I almost wish I had been there, just to see it.

When I got home I went back to bed and slept until Kim and Rich left for the golf team party, that parents were invited to also. I tried to keep sleeping, but the phone kept ringing, mostly with calls for Rachel, and finally with a call from Rachel, so I got up. With everyone gone and nothing to watch on TV, it was boring at my house. Buffy had terrible gas, so it was not only boring in my living room, but also stinky! I took her out for a short walk and when I got home I looked around for my book, but it wasn't downstairs anywhere, so I guessed it must still be in the car.

Rich and Kim came home and reported on the nice time they had at the party. I sat in the kitchen at the table and ate an apple and talked to Rich while he did the dishes. He said he told the other parents that I wasn't at the party because I work midnights and was home sleeping, and then he asked me if that sounded too blue collar? I didn't realize that he noticed that the other parents of golfers are obviously in a higher income bracket than we are. I told him we are the Roseanne and Dan Connors of the golf team, and he agreed.

So I got in the car to come to work, and looked around for my book, but it wasn't in the car! I would hate to lose it, as it's a volume of three mystery stories by Michael Innes. I love his writing, and his books are hard to find. In fact, I might have to go back to eBay and outbid someone for the lot of 30 Michael Innes books, because I really want them!

As I drove to work, I remembered that I stopped in the ladies room near the ER as I was leaving the hospital this morning, and maybe I left the book there! I called the ER registration desk to ask if anyone had turned in my book and she said no, there was a paperback Harlequin romance there, but that was all! Ugh, no, not mine. I waved at her when I got to work and she held up the paperback for me! Very funny. As I passed through the Admitting area, I was planning to check behind the big admitting desk, to see if anyone might have turned my book in there, and when I glanced over at the desk, there it was, right on top! Yay! So now I'm happy because I have my book back, and my knitting to work on, and a quiet night ahead. Aaaah.

11:17 p.m. - 2005-09-24
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter