monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dogs like apple cores.

So I notice that I haven't updated in a week! I just haven't had anything to write about, and no ambition to do anything. None of my knitting is interesting, work is the opposite of interesting - I've gotten out of the habit of just sitting and writing a post every day, even when there is nothing to say.

I'm going to do better, really. It's hard to get started though...

Knitting: I have started several things and ripped them out again, because I can't get excited about them. The lime green wool has had several incarnations, and right now is becoming a cardigan for Kim. Part of the problem is that my kids have about a hojillion sweaters each, so even when I start something fun, after a while I begin to wonder why I bother? I'm making a scoop-necked cardi with deep ribbing on the bottom and sleeves. You can see it here.

I also ripped out the pieces of the cardi I was making for Rachel with the lovely blue Cotton Fleece yarn. I started another sweater, but now I'm having doubts about the fit, due to gauge problems, so I'm probably going to rip that one, too.

I'm making a little holder for my iPod tonight, and it is actually making me happy. Maybe because it's easy, quick, and will be finished in one night!

The iPod holder knitting started with the joining of an audiobook club, called Audible.com. You pay a fee to download two books a month, and I joined it so that I could get some audiobooks on my iPod for Rachel to listen to in the car on the commute to nursing school. I need to go shopping tomorrow for an adapter for her car, but in the meantime, I started listening to a book yesterday, and brought the iPod to work in my purse so I could listen to the rest of it at work ("Behold, Here's Poison" - a mystery by Georgette Heyer) but I was annoyed when the earbuds got tangled up in my purse.

A couple of weeks ago I knitted a little iPod cosy for my mother-in-law to use to protect her cool new Hogwarts iPod, so my first thought was to make one like the one I made for her, using the pattern in Stitch N Bitch. I bought a ball of a bright bulky yarn at the fabric store today, and I was going to adapt the pattern to use with the bulky yarn. I started that, but then when I was in bed, falling asleep for my pre-work nap, I remembered the easy little drawstring bag that Rachel designed a few years ago, and as soon as I woke up, I cast on for one of those! I'm very excited to be working on that tonight!

A few years ago I had a Vogue Knitting magazine with some cool Celtic designs and I knitted a couple of them into the front and back of a little bag for Rachel's spinning tools, and now if I can find that magazine again, I can make some great iPod bags. I have all the VKs I've ever purchased, it's just a matter of finding the right one. I can narrow it down a bit by date, since I think I made the bag when Rachel was a freshman in college. She designed the bag when her roommate's boyfriend asked if she could knit a little bag for his trombone mouthpieces, and I made a couple of them for her after that because they were fun. I know one had a dragon design on it. So it would have been Winter or Spring of 99, I think, since she started college in the Fall of 98. The one I'm knitting tonight is going to be plain, but if I can find that magazine, I'll make more of them!

Reading:

I've been reading Michael Innes books, and I'm done with all the ones I have in the house! I'm waiting impatiently for the ones I bought on eBay. I didn't win the 33 book lot, but I bought 4 volumes from another seller.

Travel:

I've got to find my birth certificate or order a new one soon so I can go to Mexico for Sarah's wedding at the end of the month.

Diana can't make it here for her annual Fall Apple Orchard and Homecoming Parade pilgrimage, so I'm planning to drive to Arizona with RA in January or February.

Golf:

Kim's golf season is finally wrapping up! She played in all day tournaments on Friday and again today, and then I think it's just team practice all week until the state finals. She is doing okay, and next year she will do even better! There is a new golf course that opened near us that has an indoor practice range, so she will be able to keep practicing through the Winter. Of course, like all real golfers, she can play until the snow flies on the regular course.

Let's see, Rachel is sick of driving back and forth an hour each way to school, Scott is wishing he had a car at school, Rich walks the dog too many times a day, yeah, that's the wrap-up.

Oh, and we ate a total of 5 heads of garlic this weekend, roasted and smeared on French bread (2) and baked in 40 Clove Garlic Chicken (3). Tonight I made something without garlic.

11:16 p.m. - 2005-10-03
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter