monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

So with my MBA in hand, I chose instead to stay home and raise a family...

I usually try to write something on Sunday night so that you all will have an entry to read on Monday morning when you get to work, but I had to spend so much time writing my bio for the bulletin board last night that I didn't have time to do a journal entry!

It's a team-building thing that everyone has to do in our department - two employees are chosen each month and forced asked to make a bulletin board display about themselves so that we can all get to know each other better. Everyone does pretty much the same thing; we decorate the bulletin board with something seasonal - it's Fall, so I used leaves - and put up a few pictures of you and your family, with a short bio of yourself.

Naturally I left it to the last possible minute, and I was a bit panicky about writing the bio, so I fretted about that quite a bit in the days leading up to the Big Bulletin Board-making day. I did buy some leafy decorations, and I pondered what I could put in my bio that would make me sound cooler than I am, and I was sort of ready. Oops, except that when I was leaving the house on Sunday night to come to work, I remembered the pictures! So I took the pictures on the mantle out of their frames and brought them to work, and also I raided my wallet for pictures when I got here.

I worked on the bio last night and finally came up with something useable. Not especially witty, but it's readable. I didn't know where to start, so I just started writing and then cut stuff out until it was just a page in length, with nice margin space so it's inviting to look at.

When Barb got to work this morning, she did the actual decorating, because she is good at that! She even made a beautiful bow with some Autumn-y ribbon, and everyone has admired it!

The other woman who is doing the bulletin board with me hadn't gotten to work by the time I went home, so I didn't see her side until tonight, and I have to say that hers makes mine look even better! Her bio is two pages long, with big paragraphs closely spaced, and I haven't read it yet, because it just looks boring! She didn't bring in pictures yet, either, but she told Barb she will.

So I'm feeling pretty good about mine now, since it doesn't suck. I brought in another picture for mine, and I think I might change some of the pictures later, just to keep it fresh. I put a bowl of candy corn on the shelf under the bowl (not my idea, it was Barb's - she did it with the first bulletin board, and now everyone puts out candy) so people can have a little nosh while they bask in the glow of my life story.

RA called at 2 to see if I was awake so that we could go get some good Mexican food at Alvarez. When we got there, we remembered that it's closed on Monday, so we went to the other side of town to get the good Chinese food, but they close for a couple of hours in the afternoon between lunch and dinner, so we ended up at Dairy Queen, eating chili dogs and fries. They were good, just not our first choice.

RA needed a Magic 8 Ball for her seminary lesson on prophecy, so we went shopping! We found an 8 Ball at Shopko, but when we stopped to say hi to Rachel, she said not to buy one because she had one in the closet in her former bedroom, that is now Rich's office. RA also wanted to buy one of those supermarket tabloids to get some Nostradamus prophecies, so we went to the grocery store, where she got her paper (Anciet Indian Prophecies!) and I got a few groceries so I could make Horrible Salad for dinner.

Rachel had to work until 9, so Rich went up and searched the closet for the Magic 8 Ball, and couldn't find it. He looked in the attic, too, but it wasn't there. I called Rachel and she bought one on her way out of the store after work. Whew!!

3:58 a.m. - 2005-10-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter