monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All aboard for Planet Crazy.

I got a letter from my grandmother today. I used to write her every week because I had two kids on out missions and I wrote to them every week, so I would make a copy and mail it to my grandma, too. Since she's been living on Planet Crazy, I have been writing less and less, just because not much is happening and because I no longer write to missionaries. So occasionally, my grandma writes to remind me that she is still around and would like to hear from me.

Since I don't write many letters now, I would be glad to call and talk to her, in fact I would be happy to call her often, it's just that if I call, I have to talk to Shirley, and that is a bit awkward since she went berzerk back in July and caused all the craziness. I have been wanting to talk to Grandma, though, so I cowboyed up and called Grandma tonight, and of course Shirley answered and when I asked for Grandma, Shirley was all Hi, how are you and I mumbled, "Fine," and then she asked if I was mad at her! OMG, no, I just fear your craziness, but yes, actually, I am a bit angry, now that I think about it. Anyway, I said no, and she mumbled something about me not wanting to talk to her, and you know I don't, so she went off to get Grandma.

Well I talked to Grandma for a few minutes, but I really was just awfully tired, so I didn't talk long and I went to take a nap. When I woke up, I felt much better, and I decided that I would include Grandma in my daily email to Uncle Joe. Uncle Joe is Diana's father and he writes me (and all of his kids, too) an email every day, and I always write back because I am so happy just to get mail! We mostly talk about what we made or are planning to make for dinner, and he reports on his golf scores and tells me when Aunt Lynn gets her hair done, and I tell him how our weather is and report on Kim's golf scores.

So I wrote my nightly note to U. Joe, and then copied it to the email address on Planet Crazy. Then I stupidly called Grandma again to let her know that I had sent an email, because I don't know how often they check it, and she told me that Shirley was upset because I wasn't talking to her.

Great. So I told Grandma that I didn't want to talk Shirley because she is insane and Gma told me that it would make life easier for her if I did. Yes, because I'm sure that Shirley just sits around fussing about it every time I call and don't talk to her, just like she fusses about everything anybody does that upsets her - she just goes on and on about it forever. Then Grandma asked me if I wanted to talk to Shirley and I said I had to get going to work because I needed to go in a little early to help with something so I didn't have time to talk (a lie).

Well, great, now I am causing Shirley to fuss, and that is causing Grandma to be fussed at, and OMG, I just hate this.

So here is what I am going to do. I'm not going to call there, because, ugh, I just can't do it, but I will write a nice email every day and I will say something insincere about saying hello to Shirley for me at the end of every letter, and maybe after a month has passed I will say, again without sincerity, Give my love to Shirley, and I hope that will cause the whole problem to just go away.

So is everyone's family full of insanity, or is it just ours?

*****

Jeanette's afghan progress:
19/50

3:29 a.m. - 2005-11-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter