monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which it is cold. And snows.

We had a big snow yesterday. It was predicted, so everyone was expecting it, and we had time to get a little bit prepared - no, not go to the store for emergency supplies, but we did get the sidewalks shoveled from the last snow so we were ready to shovel again! And when I say "we", I mean someone else in my family shoveled, in this case it was Rachel.

So Barb called this morning about 5:30 to say that she was on her way to work but the blowing and drifting were so bad that she wasn't sure she was going to make it. She drives a big heavy truck, though, so she did eventually get here.

I called Rich to see if school had been cancelled due to snow, and he said there wasn't any snow! I told him that Barb was floundering in it on the way here, and he said we had only gotten a dusting so far!

Barb lives about 50 minutes to the west of town, so she gets the bad weather before we do.

When I got home, it was snowing lightly and there was a truck out in front of our house. Rich was watching for me at the front door, and he backed the van out of the driveway so the truck could pull in. It was the new furnace!

Rich woke up Rachel, who dragged upstairs and lay on the couch while I played some Animal Crossing. The point of waking her up was so that there would be someone to deal with the furnace guys if they needed anything.

So the furnace replacing commenced with much banging and scraping and more banging, and I was wondering how I would sleep with all the loud noises, but when I finally went to bed, I went right to sleep and didn't get up until 1:30.

When I got up, the heat had been off all day, and the house was a bit cold, but not too bad. Rachel was at work, but Kim was home, because school closed early! Snow had been falling all day!

I went downstairs to see how the furnace installation was going, and the guy was working on it, and was surprised that I had been able to sleep! Well, when you're tired, you can sleep. So the new furnace? It's so small and cute! It's all shiny and new! He was still working on it, though, so I went back upstairs to find something to do.

I couldn't play Animal Crossing because Kim was playing something else, but then Rachel came home unexpectedly because she was sick, so I played some AC to amuse her while she lay on the couch and Kim went off to do homework.

We have some movies from Netflix, and I put in Holiday Inn, which I ordered because I thought it would be a good Christmas movie, but I haven't seen it in a long time, and also? I hate musicals. So I wandered off to the kitchen because the movie was getting on my nerves. Kim and Rachel really liked it, although we had to explain blackface to Kim, and I'm not sure she really gets it. It made me very uncomfortable to see that number in the movie.

Actually the whole movie was irritating and not just because of the political incorrectness. Fred Astaire's character steals his best friend's girl right at the start, and Bing Crosby takes it well on the surface, but I'm sure it contributed to his nervous breakdown and subsequent stay in the sanitarium later. Later Astaire's character is shattered (briefly, but he gets over it) when the same bimbo dumps him unexpectedly, but why was it such a surprise? She cheated on Crosby with him, then she cheated on him with someone else, and she was probably not going to be faithful with the millionaire she married, either. It wouldn't be long before she was sleeping with the poolboy.

So I went to the kitchen and talked on the phone while I made Beef and Mushroom Stir-fry for dinner, and the furnace guy finished up and left, so the house started heating up, and we all lived happily ever after.

Except poor Rachel, who is suffering mightily tonight. I hope she feels better tomorrow.

Scott has three finals tomorrow; his hardest classes! He'll be here Friday!

2:35 a.m. - 2005-12-15
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter