monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quiet Christmas.

I've been knitting squares for Jeanette's afghan since I finished RA's mittens on Friday. I worked on the mittens on the trip to Chicago and back. We went to Chicago to meet up with some of Rachel's friends from college and their two very cute kids. Well, the one that was awake was cute, the 6-week-old baby was asleep the entire time.

We met Rachel's friends at a mall, and since it was the Friday before Christmas, it was pretty wild. The traffic, the parking lot, the mall full of people, phew! It was all very Christmas-y, but by the time we left the mall, I was feeling a bit overwhelmed, and couldn't think about stopping at a restaurant for a late lunch, even though we were all hungry! We ended up eating at an oasis on the way home. It wasn't bad.

When we got home, Rich was home installing the heater for the bed, which is quite warm now, thanks.

It was nice to have Christmas at home by ourselves for the first time in oh, our entire married life! We have always had to visit our parents with the kids on Christmas day, and since we moved here, Rich's parents have come to visit us every year, but this year they stayed home, and we are going there later this week. So it was just us, and it was great!

Rachel sewed squares together on the (damned) afghan yesterday, and it looks good! I love the colors! I used a lightish blue, a dark blue, and cream and when they are sewn together, it makes me think of blue jeans. I really like it. Rachel says I need 6 more squares of each color. Well, she said that yesterday and I've made 2.5 squares since then, so that's uh...34.5 done and 15.5 to go? I need to stop typing and get to work!

11:09 p.m. - 2005-12-25
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter