monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New Year's Resolutions

I haven't had enough sleep and I whined all afternoon. I'm sure my kids are sick of me by now. I wanted to play Animal Crossing, but Kim wanted to play her game on the Gamecube, and then I went to bed for a nap that didn't really help because my bed is too hot (I'm never satisfied) and when I woke up, Scott was playing his game on the Gamecube, so I was bored! I think I need my own Gamecube. I'm shaking my head in pity at what a loser I am.

So now I'm at work and it's too hot here in my office because I work with skinny girls with poor circulation, and they always crank up the heat, so I'm suffering!

However, I am happily knitting and planning to read some HP fanfiction (oh, and when I woke up this afternoon, the first thing I said to Rachel was, "I'm reading a really good Harry Potter fanfiction online!" and she and Scott made fun of me) but first I am reading my new Knitting Vintage Socks book that Sarah gave me for Christmas while I knit the first pattern in the book and it's the one thing that is making my life worthwhile tonight. I'm looking at the patterns and planning to make every one of them.

My other plan for this year, knitting-wise, is to finish two sweaters that have been sitting in baskets, unfinished, for years! They are both Dale of Norway sweaters, that I bought as kits, and one of them I know I've mentioned more than a few times - it's the one that I occasionally consider ripping out because I don't like the color and then I take it out and see how much of it is done and I can't bear to rip it out so I put it away again. I'm going to finish it! I'm just going to finish it and let someone wear it or maybe send it to one of those charities that sends clothes to Mongolia or something. That's right, I've invested over $150 in that sweater (yarn, needles, pattern) and I just want to finish it and give to a yak herder living in Mongolia because I don't like the main color. Well, maybe I'll give it to Inger.

So that's my goal for this year. Finish those sweaters. Also, make all the socks in the new sock book. I'm planning to organize the yarn room, too. Why are all my goals about knitting? Wait, I have one more; I plan to stop paying someone to do a half-hearted job of cleaning my house, and start doing a half-hearted job of cleaning it myself. Hah. I slay me.

11:51 p.m. - 2006-01-01
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter