monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which my knitting wears me out.

It was still dark when I left work this morning and I was really tired, so I went to my room, shoved a cat out into the hall so I wouldn't have to get up in a couple of hours to let a mewing cat out of my room (Zorro, I'm looking at you!), closed the door and went to sleep. When I woke up it was almost 2, so I got up and then stayed up the rest of the day, because 6 hours sleep is enough for anybody, isn't it?

Rachel, who has been very very sick, so sick that I thought she was getting bronchitis, is feeling a lot better today and was gone to work when I toddled downstairs to find a Diet Pepsi. Scott was sitting on the couch, reading something, and Kim was at school.

I checked my email, called RA, and then I somehow managed to talk Scott into making tuna sandwiches. He made the sandwiches and then served one to me while I played Animal Crossing! Aah, is this not happiness?

When Kim got home from school, we borrowed her car and Scott and I went to visit Kelly, her mom, and the pretty pretty baby. Aww, that baby is pretty! I took some crackers for her because we are cracker buddies, and she showed us her toys while we talked. I have been wanting to see her use sign language and it is really cute! She can hear, she just doesn't talk yet, so she is learning to sign. I showed her how to sign "Cracker", of course.

Rich is swamped at work like he always is this time of year, so you know who has to walk the dog, and you know what dog isn't very happy about that. We took her for a longish walk and it was cold out there, I tell you what! Then Scott made hamburgers and I sat in the kitchen and talked on the phone to Inger to keep him company while he cooked.

It's a little wierd right now because I don't have any house knitting. I have two socks that I started and have been working on while I'm at work, but nothing to do at home. I got out the basket containing the (accursed) Nagano sweater, but in order to work on it, I have to find the needle that I pulled out of the sleeve to use in something else, which means guessing at the size because I just can't remember. I think it was a 2. So I'll have to get a 2, knit a couple of rows with it and see how it looks. If it's okay, fine, but if it's not right, I'll have to try another size until I get the right one. Also the body? I'm something like 2/3 through the yoke design, and I will have to figure out exactly where I am and then mark the chart with sticky notes and then find the directions and make sure I'm doing whatever neck shaping there is correctly, and oh yeah, better measure the sleeve and count the stitches to see where I am in that! What a pain. In my ass. An asspain. But I'll do it, I'll do it and I'll work on it and I won't stop until it's done! This time, I'm going to finish it! Excelsior!

I'm exhausted just thinking about it. I need a nap.

11:22 p.m. - 2006-01-04
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter