monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Keep it secret, keep it safe.

I was working on the Nagano sweater, but then I had a nervous breakdown and Rachel had to take it away and hide it in her room. Kim was there, shouting, "I'll distract her and you grab it!" as I wept and begged (begged!) them to give me a pair of scissors so I could cut it into little pieces, because I know if it isn't destroyed it will destroy me! Like the One Ring! Please, take the sweater and cast it into the fire from which it was forged!

Later I called Rachel at work and told her my new plan, which is to not do the neck shaping, which requires me to start knitting back and forth, meaning that I would need to purl the color pattern on the wrong side so that I can make the decreases on both sides of the neck. (I tried to just knit backward so that I could avoid purling but I got confused, possible because Monkeys Never Sleep and that was when I started to melt down.)

I told her that if she would give me that sweater back, I will just knit it all in one piece without the shaping, bind off the shoulders and then cut away the stitches to make the neck shaping. Rachel agreed that I could have it back if I did that, so she will bring it out of hiding when I am ready. You should have heard the unsympathetic laughter when she told Rich about it later.

I hate that sweater.

Kim's friends Catseh, Sando and one more that I don't have a nickname for, gathered at our house to watch their anime movie and oh my goodness, the shreiks, the gasps, the giggles! I was glad to come to work tonight where it is quiet and there is only happy sock knitting.

2:13 a.m. - 2006-01-14
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter