monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Rich doesn't have to take the dog on 5 walks today.

Yesterday I went to the store with Kim because Rachel called from Shopko and said that curtains were on sale and I should come and get some. You know we just have the blinds with the cat windows broken in them. Rachel was so insistant on getting curtains that she came home on her lunch break and measured the windows and then called again later to see why I wasn't there at the store buying the curtains yet!

Kim wanted to buy a new sketchpad, too, so we went together in her car. I was amused to hear Stairway to Heaven on the radio while we were driving and I asked if she was listening to an oldies station. She said it was the CD that Catseh gave her for Christmas. I had forgotten about that, but Catseh is all about Led Zeppelin, the Beatles and some other old stuff, so she made the CD for Kim because she hates it when people wear shirts with bands on them and then when she asks what songs they like, they say they don't know any. Kim has a Beatles t-shirt, which is what got Catseh started on that, and apparently she has seen people wearing Led Zeppelin shirts, too. She gave Kim a Beatles CD, too, and I bought one for her, but the one I bought is so dull I can't listen to it. I should have given her the White Album. Or Abbey Road. Maybe I'll give her that one for her birthday.

So now I have curtains in the living room and it looks good! Kim has a new sketchpad and she wants some fancy colored pencils and there were some art markers, too, so I am bribing her to practice the harp without being reminded (she says it's nagging) for new pencils.

The Alien Scarf is coming right along! I'm just beginning the fourth pattern repeat. I showed it to some people at work last night who were impressed, or at least they pretended to be. It really is very cool.

I'm considering doing a big project during the Olympics, just because some of the knitbloggers are doing it, and you know how I like to be part of the crowd. They're calling it Knitting Olympics or something like that and the plan is to start some project by casting on during the opening ceremonies and then be finished with it, including blocking, by the last day. It's 16 days, isn't it?

So I was thinking maybe of doing the Gjende sweater for Kim. I think it would be possible to do that in 16 days. Or I could order some lace yarn from Knitpicks and make the Flower Basket shawl, but you know how I am with knitting lace, I'm sure it would end up being the Hell in a Handbasket Shawl. There is the Folk Shawls book and I could maybe pick a pattern from that - one that doesn't use lace weight yarn.

I just chased Kim out of here; she was standing behind me spraying whipped cream from a can into her mouth! I can't believe she thought it was a good idea to do that in my presence.

Buffy is spending the night at the vet's after her surgery today. It's kind of nice - we had the missionaries over for supper and the big friendly dog wasn't jumping on everyone or whining while we ate! I feel sorry for her though, because she's sleeping in a strange place, without her daddy!

7:05 p.m. - 2006-01-18
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter