monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I cook weird stuff and try to watch a weird movie.

OMG, my head, it is pounding! I just woke up at 4 a.m. and took a shower, and now I'm downstairs in the cold house so Rich can sleep undisturbed in our warm bed. I wish I was up there with my feet under the covers!

Kim and I went out to breakfast this morning, because she was feeling deprived. She knows that I go out to breakfast with RA once in a while, and Kim is a bit bitter about having to go to school every day while we are out frolicking. So just to be nice, I woke her up early and we went out to breakfast, and then we had several errands to run, one of them being to shop for her party.

The grocery store is not really where you want to be on the Saturday afternoon before the Super Bowl. It was pretty crowded. We did our shopping and then read magazines while we waited in the long checkout line.

Finally we staggered home and decided to rest on my bed for a while and then start the pre-party cooking. My movie friend had loaned me a movie called Stormy Monday, with a very young Sean Bean in it. Kim loves him, so we watched it in bed on the portable DVD player and it was funny, because Kim saw a lot more of Sean Bean than she had expected!

In the middle of the movie, Rachel called from work and begged us to get out of bed and go pick up some lunch from the Chinese place because it was so busy at work that no one could leave to get the lunch! So we dragged out of bed and went to deliver lunch, and then came home to eat shrimp fried rice and finish the movie.

I made brownies for the party, and threw in a handful of oversized M&Ms. That just makes brownies better! When Kim's friends started arriving, Rachel and I hid in my room with another of Andy's movies; The Ruling Class. We watched probably 30 minutes of it, and then we had to go out, for the baptism of Rachel's friend's mother, in a small town near here.

When we got back, the kids were all gathered in the living room, watching an anime movie, and Rachel and I went straight to the kitchen to make enchiladas.

Rachel called Biscuits and talked to him to entertain me while we worked on the food, which was very umm, experimental. We had a recipe, but I've never made it before, and I doubt that I will try it again. It was Olga's recipe and I've had them at her house, but mine weren't nearly as good. Oh well. The teenagers? They ate them, so I guess they were okay.

We went back upstairs to watch the rest of The Ruling Class, and we valiantly watched, and watched, and watched, but oh my goodness, I thought it was never going to end! It was so long, and so dull and weird, that finally (after 2 hours!) we turned it off. Ugh. Rachel and I can pick some crap movies on our own, but Andy can top anything we find!

Here is something funny that I saw on the internet today - take a look.

4:58 a.m. - 2006-02-05
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter