monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Minutiae.

You know, there is no big drama going on, not even a small one, and it's hard to find anything to write about. When I think about what I like to read in other diaries, it's the little day-to-day things that draw me back. So I'm going to write about the little things, since there is nothing big going on. Except that Scott is going to get married. Hi, Carolyn!

What I'm reading today. I finished a Harry Potter fanfic called After the End, and it was good but long. Very long. So long in fact, that I had to force myself to read all the way to the end. I get tired of the undying love between Harry and Ginny and Ron and Hermoine, but I liked that the authors made Bill, Charlie and Percy into characters with more depth than in the original stories. This story is post-Hogwarts, and the kids are starting their careers. Ron got a job as a bartender in a pub, which was cool, and then he started working as a kind of Para-legal at the Ministry of Magic. Harry went to try-outs for a professional Quidditch team, Neville is the new Herbology teacher at Hogwarts. I'm questioning the relationship between Sirius and Remus, though. It wasn't overt, but I think they are a little closer than any of kids realize. The Weasely parents probably know, but they are being discreet and not saying anything about it.

I'm taking a break from HP fanfiction to read The Corinthian by Georgette Heyer for the book club. If you want to read any fanfics, let me know and I'll send you the list of my favorites.

The Corinthian is amusing, and I'm making a list of Regency slang. I think I'll turn my list into a quiz and test the members of the book club. I have to look up some of the words, though. For instance, exactly what is a tiger, as relates to a young boy who rides behind ones carriage?

While I read The Corinthian, propped open by the handset of the phone so I can have my hands free, I am knitting sock #2 of a pair of Gentleman's Plain Winter Socks in Navy wool. I can't remember the name of the yarn, but it's one of my favorites.

What I made for dinner - I have been trying to make dinner every night, and tonight it was Chicken and Lentils. It's an old family favorite from the first Frugal Gourmet cookbook. This was a really good batch, and I think it was made better by sauteing the chicken in a mix of vegetable oil and sesame oil.

How many times Kim changed her clothes today (a new feature) - Kim wore at least 4 shirts and two pairs of pants, plus a pair of shorts and her pajamas. She started in a black Zelda t-shirt and jeans, then changed to pink yoga pants and a black camisole to do (what else?) yoga with Rachel. After the yoga, they played DDR, and Kim changed to a white sports bra under the camisole, still wearing the yoga pants, but after DDR, she was hot and put on the shorts with the camisole. Later she was cold and got dressed in a Beatles t-shirt and jeans, and she put on her pajamas before I left the house. All of those changes and she never even went outside today. It's no wonder I do so much laundry!!

3:33 a.m. - 2006-02-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter