monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Piled high and deep.

So last night I was using the computer, and I kept getting alerts from Weatherbug. Finally I got tired of being beeped and I looked to see what the alert was - it was a Winter weather advisory, and it was for the next 24 hours! What?? It was perfectly fine outside; maybe a little cold, but Kim and I had been out for a walk and it was 40 degrees!

I forgot all about that until I woke up this morning and it was snowing, hard! The ground was thickly covered and so were our cars. It was a wet, heavy snow, too, and we had to clear it off of the van so we could drive to church. It wasn't bad to drive in.

After church, it was still coming down, and it was getting deep. Rachel had already left for church in Rockford, and I talked to her on the phone as she drove. She said the highway was clear, and oh, could I make some oatmeal cookies for her to take to a meeting in the evening?

I didn't make any commitments in regard to the cookies, I just went upstairs and took a nap. We all napped, like we do every Sunday after church, and when we woke up, it was still snowing!

I was drinking a Diet Pepsi and checking for email when the phone rang, and it was Chris! For those of you who have forgotten, he's my snowshoveling guy! He was so reliable last year, but this Winter? He disappeared! The phone number I had for him was disconnected, and I didn't know any other way to reach him, so we have been shoveling our own walks this year. After every snow, I would look longingly out the window, and murmur softly, "Chris? Chris?" but he never came. I thought maybe he joined the Army or something, but he says he was working for a temp agency, doing something in a warehouse, and now that job is over. And just in time! Oh, the happiness!

With Chris on his way over to shovel, I felt a renewed interest in life, so I woke up Kim and I made a batch of Uncle Joe's Brownies and Kim made Oatmeal Raisin Cookies. She did it all by herself! I kept her company in the kitchen but she did all the work, with very little input from me. Her cookies turned out well, and we gave some to Chris when he was done.

Rachel came home from church a bit early - it seems the weather was getting worse, so they ended services early and everyone went home. She tried to call to see if the meeting was cancelled for later, and couldn't get an answer from anyone who might know, so she took the brownies and some cookies and went to the meeting. Only one other person showed up, so they each ate a cookie and went home.

When I came to work tonight, it had stopped snowing and our walks? They were shoveled beautifully.

1:43 a.m. - 2006-03-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter