monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cooler than me.

I'm hiding out in the den while Kim has her harp lesson in the dining room. She's on Spring Break this week, so her harp teacher came to our house instead of having their lesson at school.

I haven't had enough sleep (as if I ever do), so I'm planning to make some soup (Five Bean Soup from a recipe in the Rachael Rae magazine) and then I'm going to go back to bed. I'll leave the soup on the stove for my family to eat when they're hungry. Rachel is at work, so she'll be coming home about 4:30 to scrounge something fast and then go back to work, and she'll be happy to find that there is some soup made!

Rich's parents are coming down this weekend to celebrate Kim's birthday - she's going to be 17 on Monday; I could weep - so I'm running around putting away some of our PILES of stuff. Good thing Olga is coming to clean tomorrow! The bathrooms and the floors will look good!

Also, I invited a couple from the ward over for dinner tomorrow, and I thought it would be nice if there was some space cleared so we could sit down and eat like civilized people instead of cro-magnons. You know that I make dinner, but we don't all sit down at the table and eat it together, right? I make food and let people in the house know that it's ready and we fill our plates in the kitchen and eat all over the house, like savages. Sometimes one or two of us sit down at the dining room table, so it's almost like normal people!

I'm cleaning everything off of the table in the breakfast nook, and that's a nice little space to sit and eat together. There are three little coolers in there, one on the bench and two under it that have collected there because Rich's parents bring a cooler in the car with them when they visit, and then they usually forget to take it when they leave. Also, when we visit them, they always pack food in a cooler for us to take with us for the trip home, as if we can't buy a bag of Doritoes or stop at BK, so the coolers pile up at our house. There are two more in the basement! My plan is to send the three in the kitchen back home with his parents, thus reducing the cooler population here.

Rich's parents will be bringing the traditional Birthday Cookie with them. It's a huge cookie, about the size of a large pizza, sometimes with two layers of cookie and frosting between them, and it's been a birthday tradition for our kids since Rachel was maybe 6? Every year his parents think the kids will be too big for it and won't want a birthday cookie, which they used to buy in the mall at the cookie store, but I think that store is gone now, so they order it from a bakery. They call us sometimes before a birthday to ask if the birthday kid wants a cake or the birthday cookie, and almost always, they choose the cookie. Once they brought a georgeous dragon cake for Kim - I think we have pictures of it somewhere.

Wow, can you believe the baby is going to be 17?

3:11 p.m. - 2006-03-29
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter