monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am a smart ass.

Rich's parents have been here all weekend, but it was too windy and cold to do very much, so we stayed in and watched golf (I knitted). Golf was on all day, on at least two channels, so we watched both men's and ladies tournaments. Kim and Rich got out the golf clubs, so they are all in the living room, thanks, and now we are eager to start playing again.

A few weeks ago I asked Rich's mom if she could get the names and birthdates of her sisters, their husbands and their children so I could get those entered into my family history software, and when she came down this weekend she brought a big notebook with her, filled with names and dates going back to the 1700s! Apparently one of her sisters had a friend who must do geneology as a hobby, so a lot of information was already prepared. Rich's mom just called around to her (large) family and got the names and birthdates of their latest grandchildren. So she left that book here for me and I'm pretty thrilled about it.

Kim played the harp for us, and that reminded me that I really need to focus on getting that CD made. I wanted to finish it for Christmas, and when that fell through, I let the idea drop, but now I want to get it done!

Kim also demonstrated how to play Dance Dance Revolution and her grandma was pretty entertained by that, but didn't want to try it herself. Go fig.

I'm a little worried about Rich's mom. Has she always been this vague? She asks how to do the simplest things, and I don't remember her being like that. Well, maybe she was. She always has asked the silliest questions. She was making a sandwich in the kitchen and I suggested that she might like her bread toasted, but she said that the toaster looked too complicated. Umm, it's a toaster! I explained, heavy on the irony, that you put the bread in these slits at the top and then pushed the lever down and when the bread is toasted, it pops up and you can take out the bread, and then I demonstrated with two pieces of bread. Later Rich's dad said he heard me telling her about the toaster and that I was a smart a...aleck. When he made his sandwich, I offered to toast his bread for him, but he said he knew how, thanks.

What I'm knitting this weekend -
I'm working on a top-down t-shirt for Rachel in an alpaca and silk blend that we ordered from Knitpicks a few months ago. I wanted to use a pattern from an old Knitters magazine, so I pulled a couple of piles of magazine out from under the bed in the yarn room, with only a vague recollection of when the pattern was published - sometime in the mid-90s, and was very surprised to find it after only a short search! It's a pattern designed by Sidna Farley, with interesting shaping under the arms, and a bit of trim at the neck and sleeves that I remember as being fun to do - even though it's on size 1 needles! So I started that on Friday and worked on it all day yesterday while watching golf with my family.

I made a good-sized swatch with the maroon yarn I bought at the yarn shop on Thursday. It's another alpaca and silk blend, and I'm planning a top for Kim out of that.

Last night after Rich's parents went back to the motel, Kim threw on her coat and insisted that we needed to go to W*almart to spend some birthday money on a new video game she's been wanting! Rachel had been at work all day, and she was tired, but I made her go with us to keep me company. Wow, sometimes when you go to W*almart, it's just a freakshow. While Kim got her game, we went through the DVD sale bin and found a copy of French Kiss (I have it on a video tape) and, in honor of Golf Watching Weekend, The Legend of Bagger Vance.

So that was my weekend - knitting, golf, and toaster training.

8:27 a.m. - 2006-04-02
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter