monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The future doesn't look so bright.

Yesterday after school Kim casually mentioned that the military ball (she's going with Clark, who is in ROTC) is this Saturday. This Saturday?? Thanks for telling me! She needed shoes to go with her dress, and she needed to get the dress hemmed up, so I had to get right on it!

I hadn't had lunch so we stopped at BK for lunch and then went to the store where Rachel works to say hello and buy some shoes. Shoes were so easy! There was a rack of strappy black sandals with a small heel right there in the middle of the shoe department! Kim took a couple of steps in the sandals and turned her ankle a little, since she usually wears Docs, nothing more glamorous than that, and I told her she could wear them around the house until she got used to them.

We looked for a convertible-strap bra, the one that crosses in the back so the straps don't show but I didn't find anything and anyway, the bras were hung up too thick and close together so it was making me edgy. We passed by a table full of t-shirts and Kim tried to tell me she doesn't have enough t-shirts with sassy sayings on the front, but I ignored her pleas and somehow ended up buying a pair of fatigue-green cargo pants with drawstrings at the ankle and a cute lacy shirt, and then on the way to the cash registers we got sidetracked into the purses so she got a spring purse, too.

At the checkout, the little snip of a clerk asked me if I qualified for the senior discount and I just stared at her for a minute and then said no in a sniffy way. I looked at Kim in a horrified manor and Kim said she didn't mean anything by it, and the clerk (snip!) said she has to ask. I was just as offended and hatin' as anything, and when I got out to the car I called Rachel, who was on her way out to get a taco on her lunch break, and I told her what that girl said to me, and she said, "Well, you're almost 50," in a reasonable voice, and I started to scream into the phone in a voice of terror, "Aaaaahh! Aaaaahhh! Aaaaaahh!" because ohmygoodness, I am almost 50, because I'm just getting older and older and then I'll be wrinkled and hunched over and unable to get out of my chair and it was just too terrible to think about!

So that was depressing. When we got home Kim got dressed in her new pants and shirt and put on her heels to start getting used to them. She looked really cute, but then as I was leaving to go to work I asked her for some quarters for the pop machine, and she was very reluctant to give me any! Yes, that's right, she will allow me to buy her a prom dress and shoes and some new pants and purse, but if I need a couple of quarters for the pop machine, well, I have to practically pry them out of her fist! So I'm not only aging at a rapid pace, but I can see the future looking pretty dim, with Kim not wanting to spend any of her shoe allowance on keeping me in a decent rest home.

7:08 a.m. - 2006-04-06
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter