monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Pretzel colors.

I've been knitting London Beanies for two nights at work. The first one was too big, because I didn't count right when I was casting on, but didn't notice it until I started the skull design on the front. At that point I rationalized the extra stitches and just kept knitting. As a result, the hat was too big.

The second hat I made with a design that Diana has used to make a dozen soccer beanies, and it came out a bit too small.

Today I had a chance to try the two prototype hats on the two heads that I'm making the hats for and yup, they are Too Big, and Too Small. Tonight I'm working on an adaptation of the pattern and it should be Just Right. I ripped out the big hat, but the smaller one should be fine with added length.

I went to Verna's for more hat yarn (I'm using black Encore with size 5 needles) and she had some vibrant orange Encore on the shelf, so I bought a skein of that, too. I had a vague thought about making beanies in the school colors (black and orange, eek!), but when I got home I pulled the orange skein out of the bag and asked myself what the hell I was thinking? So yeah, that's a skein that might just rest in the stash for a very long time.

12:40 a.m. - 2006-04-20
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter