monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And on the way home, we saw a llama.

What did the US do to Guatamala? I'm just wondering, because I was knitting at the best yarn shop ever this afternoon, the Yarn Exchange in Dekalb, and people were talking about a baby that was being adopted from Guatamala (and awww, that is so sweet, but I still want a Romanian baby, dahling) amd then someone mentioned what the US has done to Guatamala, and everyone else nodded and murmured in agreement, but I didn't say anything, just met Rachel's eye, and we had a silent conversation in which we agreed that we knew nothing about anything that might have happened with Guatamala but she would ask Russell, the source of all bits of historical fact. I didn't ask anyone around the knitting table because, well, yawn. Also, I was struggling with the shawl!

Shawl? What shawl? Well, here's the thing. Last night I went to work with the handpaint sock, but I was a little tired of knitting with the slightly stiff handpainted wool, which though lovely, is making my wrist tired because it's a bit stiff, so I grabbed a couple of balls of wool/mohair mix yarn that were in the yarn room (from Gunhilde), and the pattern for a lovely shawl that I first admired at the yarn shop. It was coming along very well at work last night, and I knit the first 33 rows and had paperclips bristling all along the needle, marking sections of the lace pattern, but today I had to do a tricky row, so I took it with me to the yarn shop to get help from experts!

First Andrea helped me mark the rows and recount the stitches about three times, and really, she was talking me off the ledge the entire time, because I had read the directions so many times I couldn't see them because my eyes were glazed over! Finally it looked right and I knitted the next row, but when I looked again, the "seam" lines weren't lining up, and fortunately Joann had arrived by then,and was knitting the same shawl but not sweating drops of anxiety all over hers because she's made it three times now and can do it in her sleep. She helped me get through it again, and hey! It's right now, and I think I can manage to work on it calmly!

Scott called me from the airport to say that he and Carolyn arrived in Orlando safely and were about to take the shuttle to pick up their luggage. I can't wait to hear about his trip when he gets back!

11:27 p.m. - 2006-04-27
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter