monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I get tired of telling a long story and condense it.

Thursday in Mexico:

I woke up early and sat on the balcony for a while. The view of the resort was good, so I took a picture, and then just sat and watched birds fly by. Too much serenity makes me itch, though, so I went back in and called Sarah's room. It was 7:30 and she said she wanted to go to yoga/pilates at 8.

She was just waking up, and she still wanted to go to yoga, so Rachel and I got dressed and met her there. We spread out our (thin) rubber mats and the instructor, thin, tan, and dressed in a white leotard, started leading us through some slow, peaceful stretching. Her voice was very hushed, and it was hard to hear, but I suppose that was to add to the peace and calm of the whole experience. When we had to lay on our backs and start flapping our arms peacefully beside our bodies, well, I wasn't comfortable on the hard floor, what with my boobs falling back to my neck and cutting off the blood supply to my brain and also, the hard floor!

So there I was, flapping my arms forever and I was bored, and hot and not feeling the zen, okay? In fact, I was dying to laugh, and also sweating so much that it was making my mat too slippery to do the poses, and hey, I was not about to put my face down on the that rubber mat to achieve a stretch even if it did give me peace, so finally when the instructor was laying on her back whispering instructions to the ceiling, I got up and left. Good thing my mat was near the door!

I wandered about on the beach, waiting for Rachel and Sarah to escape finish the class, and while I was waiting a couple approached me to ask if I knew where the doctor was, because the medical facility was supposed to be in the same area as the yoga hut. The man, who had an Australian accent, had gotten his eye irritated somehow and needed to have it looked at. You know I'm not a doctor, I just play one on TV, so I restrained myself from giving him medical advice, but it didn't look that bad to me, like maybe he just needed to flush it with saline. They went off to find the doctor, and then Rachel and Sarah were finished and we went to get breakfast.

There were restaurants and bars everywhere, and we mostly ate at the one nearest to our building, La Isla. The breakfast buffet was beautiful, and there was a spot where you could get an omelet made to order. While we ate, I told Sarah about the lack of ATMs at the resort and she said that her friend Jen wanted to go into town later, and she would see if we could go along with Jen and her husband.

After breakfast, we were walking back to our room, when we passed people lined up to get their picture taken holding a baby tiger! That baby tiger was fat and cute and had big paws, just like Patsy! He was really tired, and the photographer kept chucking him under the chin to make him open his eyes for the pictures! Aww, he was darling!

We had an appointment with a guy to schedule our shuttle back to the airport on Saturday, so Sarah went to find Jen, and have a massage. We met with the guy and made our arrangements, and then we stopped by the hotel gift shop. Sarah had told us not to buy anything there because it was too expensive, but we didn't think the prices were bad. We bought a black wrap with orange sequined flowers for Rachel to wear with her black dress to the wedding, and we saw a great chessboard with Mayan figures as the chess pieces - a jaguar for the knight and the king had a feathered Mayan headdress, but it was expensive, so we didn't buy it.

Rachel wanted to swim, so we went to the nearest pool, and I sat in the shade near the bar ("Otra Coca Dieta, por favor") and read a little more of the Agatha Christie book, but I didn't read much because I had to keep looking around at the people and the whole scene, it was just fascinating. Rachel had the water to herself, because everyone is just there to get a tan to show their friends back home! So Rachel swam lazily back and forth, and I drank sodas. It was pretty much the perfect day.

Then Sarah showed up, fresh from her Shiatsu massage, and looking like she had been through a horrific experience, which turned out to be the truth! Shiatsu massage is full of pain, meant to release negative energies, but ow! Pain! In spite of the physical torture, Sarah had arranged for us to go to town with Jen and Dan to look for an ATM. We went back to the room so Rachel could change - our beautiful, cinnamon-smelling room, with a new towel sculpture on the bed, this time a rabbit with a flower on its head - and then we met Jen and Dan at the main building.

We took a taxi to town which dropped us at one end of the town, where people in front of shops immediately started enticing us to come in and buy stuff! We bought a pair of earrings right away, because when I travel I like to bring home earrings (also yarn, but I never saw any!), and then another pair of earrings, but at some point I had mentioned the chess set in the gift shop to Dan, and he started helping me look for one like it.

We walked down the main street of the town, a town that only exists, I think, to sell tequila and souvenirs to tourists, and I eventually bought another pair of earrings, and saw many chess sets, but none like the one back in the gift shop. Also, I needed to find an ATM, and when I finally did, about halfway down the main street, it wouldn't accept my card!

We walked, and walked, and did I mention that the resort was large and requires a lot of walking, and so did the airports the day before and I am fat and had sore feet? They began to get more sore, and some blisters were forming, even though I was wearing older, well-worn sandals. Ow!

So we walked, and looked for chess sets and a bank, and we wandered through a couple of grocery stores, too, so Dan could price tequila, but he said it was very expensive.

Well this is just too boring, but we did find a chess set, bargained the guy down in price (Dan was a genius at talking them down), but the ones we found in town weren't as nice as the one in the hotel, and I was tired, so I didn't buy one. We got back to the resort and I soaked in the beautiful jacuzzi because my feet and legs hurt from all the walking!! That hour in the jacuzzi was the highlight of my trip to mexico!!

The wedding was beautiful, but it was outdoors in the hot, hot sun! So we suffered! The reception was on the beach, with a breeze blowing and was much nicer, and we had dinner on the beach at tables in the sand by the ocean, and it was just lovely.

We left on Saturday morning early and got home late, and boy were we glad to get back to the house!

I called Grandma this morning and told her all about the wedding, and she said she is glad that Sarah finally got married again. Grandma also said that it was too bad Mom couldn't be there, but I told her that Mom was probably there in spirit, wishing she could tell Sarah to cover up her boobs!

Well I am going to go wash some more clothes now, since everything we own appears to be piled up in the laundry room! Rich and Kim were out of town all weekend, too, setting up the wireless network at his parent's house, and they brought home some dirty clothes, too.

10:56 a.m. - 2006-05-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter