monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

And this is why I hate flying.

I hate walking for miles to find my flight and being crammed into a tiny seat with no leg room, next to who-knows-who and forced to listen to idiots talk to each other in the seats around me while I try to read but have a hard time concentrating because I know I'm going to be going down in a fiery ball of flaming metal at any moment!

The trip to Mexico was better than the trip home. On the way down, we drove to the shuttle bus stop in Rockford, got loaded onto a bus and took the hour and a half ride to the Chicago airport, checked in, had our bags examined, stood in line to check through, found a shop to buy magazines, sat and waited for our flight. Got on the plane, doped up on Xanax, flew an hour to Dallas airport, where we had to change planes, find some lunch, and walk miles to the terminal. Another couple of hours on a plane, watching a rotten movie, but at least it killed some time, and hey! I didn't die! Customs in Mexico went quickly and we took a shuttle to the hotel.

On the way back, we shuttled to Cancun airport, flew a couple of boring hours to Miami, where we had to claim our bags, then walk for MILES from one end of the airport to the other, because Customs was located in BFE, somewhere near the pyramids, and wait in a long line to be interviewed by a snotty customs official, and then walk all the way back through the entire airport to change planes and stand in line forever again, only this time listening to a loud guy trying to get special attention because he was flying with his elderly father, who looked okay to me, and finally we found our gate, but it was full and there was no place to SIT DOWN! So we waited, and waited, and I bought a book but it was terrible, darn it, so I couldn't read it. Finally we got packed onto that plane for a boring 3 hour flight home, and when we got to Chicago, we had to get our luggage, drag it for miles to find the shuttle bus stop, wait for the bus, oops, we're in the wrong place and we had to walk FARTHER and my ankles were so swollen and painful from sitting in planes and walking for miles, I was in agony!! Then we rode the shuttle back to Rockford, about an hour and a half, listening to two young women babbling idiotically behind us, learning way more about their tacky lives than I wanted to know, and finally got back to our car, drove another 40 minutes to get home to our house that smells like dog pee and hasn't been vacuumed since about April, but oh my goodness, I was so happy to be here!!

From this we learned that even though the shuttle bus is less expensive than driving to the airport and using airport parking, it is far more comfortable to take your own car or have someone drive you and drop you off at your gate.

10:52 a.m. - 2006-05-22
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter