monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

I just ate a bowl of pico de gallo at 5 a.m.

Last night I was going to sleep and I thought of something to write about but, and this will surprise you, I forgot what it was when I woke up. So now, here I am at 5 a.m. and I have nothing to say.

Kim left yesterday for Youth Conference, and I was supposed to go, too, but last night I got a phone call to let me know that I didn't have to go after all, because they had enough chaperones, so yay! I got to stay home and it was very nice.

Rachel went to work at 7, Kim was gone to YC, and Rich went out on a visit with the missionaries, so I had the house to myself. Which is not as much fun as you would imagine. I called Diana and she was home alone and bored, too, but with more dogs, and then her husband came home so she went to talk to him and I just sat on my bed and knitted and watched a movie.

The movie was a piece of crap from Netflix and I'm sure you are reeling in surprise because that never happens. You know I just rent stuff because someone I like is in it or because the liner notes say it is a comedy, but you know you are getting crap when the liner notes on a movie that you have never heard of say it's a dark comedy, or a satire. Those are usually (but not always) code for Not Funny At All. On the other end of the scale, there are movies that say they are Hilarious! and that means Too Stupid To Watch. I maybe have rented Daddy Day Care and I am expecting it to be one of the later.

Rachel complains about all the movies I get from Netflix, because she thinks I have terrible taste, but that is not true. What happens is that I have eclectic taste and I rent lots of different things, including small movies that no one has heard of but me, or independently made movies because I like the director or because I want to encourage indie movies because I am sick of sequels and remakes at the theater, and then sometimes they are not the best things ever made but they are interesting or just amusing, and then Rachel complains about them, but hey! I told her to look at Netflix and put some things on the list she would like to see and she hasn't done it yet, so she can just shut up and appreciate the movies I get and learn to love Robert Altman! And Richard Dutcher (genius!). I think I'll go look at my Netflix list right now and order McCabe and Mrs. Miller.

4:59 a.m. - 2006-06-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter