monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I make a decision that could change my life.

Rachel left this morning, dressed in a long black gauze skirt, black boots, a white linen shirt and a straw hat with a brim. She had tied a light blue silky scarf around the brim of the hat, and the overall effect was that she looked like Amelia Peabody.* It was very cool. She sewed her Canadian flag patch to her backpack last night, and can sing the first two lines of O Canada, so she is ready to travel.

Kim spent the day packing for girls camp tomorrow. The girls take their belongings - clothes and whatnot - in large rubbermaid tubs, not dufflebags like you would expect, to protect their stuff from marauding racoons. She uses a blue tub with a lid that I use for yarn storage the rest of the year. It has her name written on the top in black marker and it's the same tub she's been using for the last few years - I just dump the yarn out on the bed in the yarn room and when she comes home, I put the yarn back.

Diana was surprised to hear about racoons in camp, because when she was at girls camp, there weren't any wild animals running around. Apparently in Utah, all the animals stay in the mountains and avoid teenage girls. Here they just run loose in our backyards, and when the girls go to camp, bringing large amounts of snack foods and shampoo, the animals get ready to party! I told her about when Scott went to Scout Camp and his buddy sliced his hand open and bled copiously into Scott's towel - racoons came into the tent when the boys were gone and chewed all the bloody spots out of the towel! That towel looked like swiss cheese!

Speaking of animals, I was talking to my neighbor today and I asked if she puts out sunflower seeds for the birds, because the chipmunk (Chippy Munkerson) who lives under our front porch left a big pile of sunflower seed hulls on the top step, and I wondered where he got them. She said she does, and that he has a lot of holes around the back of her house. I told her about all the holes in the front of our house, and my fear that he is undermining the foundation and one day my house will sink a foot or two into the ground, and she said that has crossed her mind, too.

What I am knitting:

Finished the pair of self-striping socks to send to a friend (now I just need to mail them).

Working on sock #1 of a second pair of white socks for Nurse Rachel to wear to work in. She loves the first pair made of white Dreambaby. I'm making this pair using the leftovers from the first pair, and I can finish the first sock, but I'll need more yarn for the second pair.

Finished sock #1 for RA of the baby blue socks, and cast on the second sock. Have lost interest in these, but I'll finishe them eventually.

Loving the lace scarf on size 3 needles, feather and fan stitch from a free pattern at Knitpicks.com. I have to force myself to work on the socks for Rachel, because all I really want to do is knit this scarf!

The new Knitpicks catalog is featuring a Norwegian-style sweater, and I really want to make that! I am thinking of buying the pattern and then ripping out the Nagano sweater and making the new sweater with the Nagano yarn! I have yarn for yet another stalled sweater that I could use for the new one, too. Now I'm excited! Ooh, a new project! But...can I really rip out that Nagano sweater? I have so much invested in that thing, timewise and emotionally! It might be painful, or it might be freeing...Okay, I'm gonna go with freeing!

----------

*Amelia Peabody Emerson (c. 1852-after 1939) is a fictional character in a series of mystery novels, set in Victorian Egypt and England, written by author Elizabeth Peters. As of 2006, there have been 18 novels spanning a thirty-eight year period from 1884 to 1922. Peabody is married to Egyptologist Radcliffe Emerson and has one biological child, Walter "Ramses" Peabody Emerson, who provides a parallel voice in many of the later books. -Wikipedia

12:04 a.m. - 2006-08-07
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter