monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I am a good listener.

I went to sleep at about 9 pm and I just woke up at 2:30 am. I hate it when that happens! So I came downstairs to let Rich sleep, and I'll read and knit. Good thing I got some library books!

Since the girls are gone, it's been harder to get my walk. I like to walk at night when it's cool, but I don't like to walk by myself after dark, so one night I walked up and down the sidewalk for two blocks back and forth while talking to Scott on my cell phone. One night I walked with Rich and Buffy, but I don't like to do that either because Buffy is so slow and they just meander all over. Finally I had a smart idea, and I called a young mother from church that I know likes to take walks with her little girl, so she brought her daughter over and we took Buffy for a walk because Rich wasn't home from work yet. Buffy walks a little faster when she is with me! We walked a few blocks to where two little dogs live that Buffy is "friends" with, and the little girl really liked them! Today I went to her house and we took the little girl, and their tiny Yorkie dog for a walk in their neighborhood!

Rachel has written a couple of emails from Egypt and it sounds like she is having a great time. They went on a three day cruise down the Nile and her friend Kathryn won the belly-dancing contest on the last night!! Rachel said it was hilarious.

I had a dentist appt today, just to get my teeth cleaned, and I was going to drive Kim's car, since Rich drove the van to work because his car was low on gas. I drove down the street in Kim's car, and it sounded very weird and didn't seem to be shifting gears (it's an automatic). The check engine light was on, so I drove around the block and came back home. Then I took Rich's car, and it was so low on gas I was driving on fumes! So I pulled into a gas station, used my debit card at the pump and was ready to put in the gas, but I couldn't get the door over the gas cap to open! I looked all over the dashboard, under the dashboard, and around the door and couldn't find it anywhere. I looked again, and looked again, and I just wanted to cry. I tried calling Rich to ask him where it was, but he wasn't at his desk.

Finally I asked an old guy at the next pump if he would help me, and he couldn't find it either, and I suddenly thought of looking in the glove box for the owner's manual and I got that out and then the old guy found it! It was down on the floor between the seat and the door. I thanked him and told him he was a genius, and started pumping gas, but he stood there talking to me, and told me I would be surprised to know that he was 60! I was surprised, since I wouldn't have thought he was a day under 73! and then he told me a dumb but clean joke about a talking dog. Oh well, it's the price you pay for getting a little help.

By the time I got the gas pumped and back on the road, I called the dentist's office from the car, and they said I was too late and they wouldn't be able to fit me in, so I have another appt in two weeks. Oh well, who wants to go to the dentist anyway?

3:12 a.m. - 2006-08-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter