monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which we skip the potluck dinner.

I'm freezing! I'm in my office, wearing a sweater over a long-sleeved shirt, and I'm cold! This hardly ever happens, so I should try to enjoy it.

We took Kim to her first rehearsal with the YSO today, and spent like 4 hours in the car! It takes an hour to get to the rehearsal, then we drove over to Barnes and Noble, looked at books but didn't buy anything, and went back to the rehearsal to pick up Kim. The kids were still playing, and we checked the schedule, because why would we look at that first? and found that she would be there for another hour and a half, but the parent meeting was in half an hour and we weren't sure how to get to the park where it would be held.

So we drove around for another 45 minutes, found the park (I called RA and her husband found it on a map for me), and arrived just as the meeting ended. Drove back to the rehearsal, loaded the harp, and told Kim we would take her to McDonalds if we could skip the potluck back at the cold, rainy, windy park. She happily agreed, and we drove home, which took another hour. I had made tuna macaroni salad for the potluck, but we will eat that ourselves.

When we got home I took a nap and woke up at 9:30 when Rachel called to complain that her ward is full of idiots and she was emotionally drained. I think she has PMS, so I advised her to take Tylenol PM and go to bed. I also suggested that she stop attending that singles branch because the people are sucking the life out of her, but I doubt that she will take my suggestion. She can go to a family ward in her area, but as I said, I doubt that she will.

After working on it for about 6 years, and that is a light estimate, because I think it might be more, I finally, finally, started ripping out the Nagano sweater! Tonight I did the sleeve, and tomorrow I will tear out the body! It's so freeing, but at the same time a little sad. I'm going to wash the yarn to get the kinks out and then use the yarn to knit another Telemark sweater.

The first Telemark sweater is about 10 rows away from being finished - just the body, I mean. It was a nice thing to knit, not too challenging, not too easy. I've made a change in the pattern of the body, but nothing too strenuous. The pattern directs you to knit the "lice" pattern of the main body all the way up the back and just do the snowflake pattern on the front yoke, but I am putting the snowflake pattern on the front and back. It's not hard and I think it looks better to have it the same on the front and back.

I finished two pair of socks this week, a pair for RA that I knitted with some Knitpicks superwash wool. I don't know how it will wear. It's thin and soft, but I wonder if it's too soft to wear well. The other pair is another pair of white socks for Rachel in 3X1 rib. She asked me to make some socks for her to wear with her nursing uniform. This is the second pair, and I have yarn for two more pair. I'm using white Dreambaby, a Patons yarn that is made of acrylic but has a cottony feel. It's a more like a sportweight than a sock yarn, but that makes a nice, cushy sock.

11:05 p.m. - 2006-09-10
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter