monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which my knitting wears more jewelry than I do.

Life is looking much better today. I have been shopping for pieces for Kim's Halloween costume - she doesn't go trick or treating anymore, but she
is going to a party and also she likes to wear a costume to pass out treats.

This year she is a bad fairy. We had a pair of black fairy wings that Rachel made for a costume she wore one year when she was an art student. They are made of sheer black fabric over a framework and they look cool! I bought a short little flippy skirt and black tights to go with a tank top that says Wicked (A Little Bit) on it, and she'll wear her black Docs.

I went for a walk with my new neighbor today, and it was so cold that we called Kim to come and pick us up when we were about a mile from home. We hadn't worn heavy coats, and as we walked, even though we were walking fast because we were going through The Cemetary, we couldn't keep warm enough. I had some knitting with me because I was doing a piece of rush knitting, and my fingers were freezing!

The rush knitting is a pair of armwarmers for Kim, to go with her Bad Fairy costume. I started to just knit a pair from an idea in my head, but then I wanted something lacier than just a plain stretch of stockinette stitch with ribbing at the top and bottom - it looked like a sock for her arm!

After our walk, I started looking on the internets, and found something much, much cooler! I was afraid I wouldn't be able to get the pair of arm warmers done by Saturday morning, even if I knitted through the night, but woot! I am actually almost done with the first of the pair and it is thrilling me to death! I needed a nap before work tonight, but I didn't want to stop knitting to sleep!! There are not many people who can understand that, but I was talking on the phone to Kim's harp teacher, who knits, and when I told her, she started laughing and said she knew just what I meant!

Here is a link for you to see them. I changed them slightly, just by knitting with worsted weight to a gauge of 5 sts per inch, instead of the aran-weight and 4 sts per inch called for in the pattern. I did that because I had the worsted weight right there in the yarn room in the colors I needed - no need to go shopping! I think that things look better knitted at smaller gauges, anyway.

Recently I have needed stitch markers while knitting in bed, and because I am too lazy enthralled by the magic of my knitting to get out of bed and look for some stitch markers, I've been using some jewelry that Diana sent to my daughters that has been sitting on the table next to my bed, in a zippered pouch. So when you see my knitting, it is wearing rings and earrings and is way more dressed-up than I ever am. The armwarmers are wearing two rings, and the sleeve of the Telemark sweater is in a basket next to my bed, wearing three earrings. It's pretty! I love having jewelry for my knitting!

12:06 a.m. - 2006-10-26
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter