monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which Kim is crabby. So what's new?

This is night 8 of 12 in a row, and it was a slow weekend because all I've done is work every night for a week, and haven't gotten enough sleep, so I was too tired to do anything. Except knit.

Rachel had a plan for the weekend, which was to come to our house Friday afternoon, borrow our van to drive some kids from the singles branch to a Halloween party in Chicago, and sleep at our house after the party. Then she was going to wake up early on Saturday and take Kim to visit SIUE and go to a party Saturday night, returning to our house on Sunday.

What actually happened was that Rachel called on Friday and was just leaving class after a bad test, and said she was tired from a long week, and didn't want to make the 5-hour drive to E-ville and back. She still wanted to go to the Friday night party in Chicago, and since other people were counting on her to drive, that was a good thing.

So Rachel came to our house, went to the party, and then stayed with us all weekend. We cooked a little, napped a little, and knitted a lot. Also watched a couple of movies and played some Animal Crossing. She left this afternoon, planning to go home and clean her room and then study. I hope she has a better week this week!

What I'm knitting now:

1. Legwarmers for Carolyn. I found a pair in the last (I think) issue of Knitty that I wanted to make when I saw them, but had no need for. They're cream with a blue Nordic Star design. I made some changes to the design because there were too many areas where the yarn needed to be carried behind more than 5 stitches, so I added some "lice" to make those long carries unnecessary.

2. Still working on the Ariann sweater for Rachel.

3. Finished the Victorian Punk Armwarmers for Kim, which Rachel loved and took home with her.

4. Started another pair of armwarmers but I got frustrated with the intarsia design, so I am going to change it a little. In the meantime, I ripped out what I had done and the yarn is resting.

5. Started another sweater for Rachel, because she wanted me to, knitted part of a sleeve, but there were gauge issues, so I ripped it back and started over. Currently have half a sleeve.

What I'm reading now:

Finished two Agatha Raisin mysteries this weekend, and am about to start Killer Cocktail.

What I'm listening to:

The sound of Kim tuning her lever harp every couple of hours. I have to keep reminding her, which is making her delightfully crabby (and not making me happy either), but she is doing it to get it back in tune.

What I need to do this week:

1. Order Kim's senior pictures. We've had the proofs for three weeks, and I need to get over to the studio and order some now!

2. Order graduation announcements. Am not excited about this at all. There is so much crap they want you to order with them! Senior T-shirts, senior mugs, senior keychains, boxers, pajamas... I'm just going to throw out all that stuff and order announcements and the cap and gown!

3. I can't think of anything else.

4:25 a.m. - 2006-10-30
1 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter