monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

By the numbers.


  • Number of flat tires on my car: 1
  • Number of trips to the store I made today: 2
  • Number of skeins of yarn I need to finish Rachel's felted messenger bag: 3

I'm not happy about the whole flat tire thing, since Rich had to be at work until 8 tonight, and I don't have any strong young men living at my house to change a tire for me. Rich says he will try to make time to get it done tomorrow.

Kimberly made a movie with a friend about how to change a tire for an assignment in Driver's Ed two years ago, but she denies any knowledge of how to do such a thing now, and reminded me that her time is at a premium right now. She has to work on a mural with Catsy and Ana after school for two hours every day this week, and practice the harp for an hour, and write 1600 words on her NaNoWriMo novel every day.

It is too cold outside for me to change a tire, even if I had the slightest inclination to do such a thing, and I have only a vague idea of how to do it, although I'm sure I could, if for instance, someone were to demand at gunpoint that I do so. I miss having girls at my house who have boyfriends to do things for me, since Kim only has Sando, and he is practically a girl.

So Kim and Catsy have been going to work on a mural at a local car dealership after school every day because it is apparently a holiday tradition for the art students to this, and it started with 5 of them working on it, and now is down to just Kim, Catsy and Ana. Yesterday the girls came back to our house afterward and said that a photographer who looked like Elijah W@@d had been there to take pictures of them. Catsy said he is her stalker, because he has also taken pictures of her at golf games.

Tonight at about 8 p.m., Kim casually mentioned that someone at school told her that her picture was in the paper today. Barb always brings a paper in to work with her in the morning, and usually I look at the front page, but this morning I was in a hurry to leave, so I didn't look.

I called and talked to Kathy at work, and she looked and said yes, Kim's picture is on the front page, so that meant I had to drag out to the grocery store (again) and get a paper (or three), and while I was there I bought the stuff I need for Thanksgiving dinner, since I had cleverly made a list at work last night and put it in my purse for later.

I'm out of the wool I'm using for the felted bag, so I wrote an email to Rachel and told her to get more - it came from the yarn store near her - and instead I worked on a sweater, also for Rachel. I worked on it until I noticed that I have made a mistake in following the pattern! I ripped back about 5 inches, and then got all the stitches back on the needle and knitted a row to straighten out all the backward stitches, and then found another mistake about 2 rows down. I was feeling a bit stressed then, so I put it away and came to work, instead.

It is quiet and peaceful here, and the floor has been vacuumed recently, unlike my house. I have some mindless knitting to work on while I read, and tomorrow I have a night off. What could be better than that?


2:12 a.m. - 2006-11-16
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter