monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Gonna buy five copies for my mother!

I know it's been a few days since I've written, but honestly, when there is nothing going on at all, when it is so cold outside that I can barely leave my house, so cold that I have to get in bed with my book and my knitting to stay warm, then there is just nothing to write about.

When I don't have anything to write about because I'm not going anywhere or seeing anyone, I always feel bad because I assume Diana is having a great time running around Phoenix with her many fun and witty friends while I am sitting home alone reading and knitting in bed to stay warm. I hadn't heard from her in a few days, but I try not to be jealous of her fun-filled life, and then today I called her and she said she's been sick with a cold and all doped up on cold meds, being ignored by her family who are gathered around the new big screen TV, playing games on their new PSBox3 or whatever, and she hasn't had any fun at all. Whew, I feel much better now.

So what I have been doing for the last couple of days is proofreading Kim's NaNoWriMo novel. I really like it, and she did a good job! I just did very light editing, some spelling and punctuation and fixing the occasional typo. Mostly I left things alone, because it is so Kimmish! You can just hear Kim's 'voice' in it and that makes it fun to read. It starts out slow, and she said she was just slogging through the introductory bits and laying the foundation, but when she gets into the action of the story, it is so much fun to read and she did a great job! My favorite scene is very clever and funny, where the main character has to distract another character in order to get an object away from him, and it's very amusing!

I didn't do much today, just went out to lunch with RA and a little shopping, then back home to keep the house quiet while Kim was recording a CD of harp music. The sound guy came over and they were in the dining room, where the harps are, and I stayed in the den, out of the way. At one point Kim shoved Zorro into the den with me, so he must have been bothering them. He escaped by pawing open the door, and I had to follow him and bring him back, and I put a chair in front of the door, which pissed him off, so he'll be looking for revenge. Good thing I'm not sleeping there tonight.

They were interrupted by a phone call from a reporter on the local paper, who wanted to get a few comments from Kim for an article she is writing about the upcoming concert, so it was all very Rockstar at our house this afternoon. Heh.

I got a note from Diaryland this afternoon notifying me of a comment from Scott. He says that when he graduated from high school, I offered him 100 dollars to not get senior pictures or have a party, which makes me look like a pretty shabby mother, so I would just like to publicly remind him that I insisted that he have senior pictures which I show off to this day, due to the handknitted nature of the sweater he wore in said photos, and also that he refused to let me order announcements to send out! I admit to offering him the choice of 100 dollars or a graduation party, and he was happy to take the money!

Finally, as a public service announcement, I would like to remind my readers that when you call the hospital to inquire about a sick friend, please remember to put in your teeth first. Also, consonants are your friend, do not be afraid to use some.

11:31 p.m. - 2006-12-05
2 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter