monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

More cowbell!

I didn't go to sleep this morning until at least 8 and I woke up at noon. I never got back to bed again, so I'm at work now and really tired tonight!

RA needed to go to Rockford to pick up a couple of things in the afternoon, and I went along with her. I got a lot of Christmas shopping done, but I'm not finished yet. We got back home in time for me to unload the car and make a sandwich for Kim while she got dressed for tonights concert.

Rachel was at Disneyworld this weekend with friends, and she got back last night, went to work this morning, and then came back to our house tonight to go to the concert with us.

Tonight was the third show in two days for Kim, and I think she's had fun with it. She played percussion instruments in the concert tonight, as well as the harp, and she did a good job! She played the bass drum in one song, she played on a cymbal with two drumsticks in another, and in one song she played the cowbell! The song was called Porte de Libertad and there was a lot of cowbell in it! She played the hell out of that cowbell!

I knitted through the concert, except for a few minutes when Rachel took my sock knitting and worked on it. What can I say? We're not very good at sitting still.

Rachel is sleeping at our house tonight (and cruelly mocked the Christmas tree, btw). We're planning to make sushi tomorrow, using recipes from a new book she bought at Epcot.

What I'm knitting today:
I found a free pattern for a cabled scarf at Knitpicks.com, and I'm make it with the Malabrigo yarn I bought on eBay. It's handpainted in shades of brown and red, with a little green. Kind of dark Autumny colors. It's soft and nicely drape-y, but the gauge is a little less, so I've had to add a couple of pattern repeats to get the length right. I went to the Knitpicks site and ordered two different bulky yarns that were recommended for making this scarf, just to try them and see what they look like. It's fun to work on!

What I'm watching today:
Did I mention the Inspector Alleyn movies I got from Netflix? I saw them mentioned on someone else's journal, and I rejoined Netflix so I could watch them. They're excellent! I love the books and the movies are very accurate adaptations!

What I'm reading when I have a minute:
A book called First Draft in 30 Days. I'd like to finish the novel I started in November, and I thought this might be helpful. The book claims that it will teach you to make an outline that is so complete, it's practically a first draft! I just need to stop wasting time on fanfiction and read it!

It's almost time for Barb to get here, and I'll ask if she watched the video I bought for her at the store on Saturday. Last week I was half-heartedly taking a Christmas trivia quiz and when I asked Barb a question about the Charlie Brown Christmas show, she had no idea! She claims she hasn't seen it! I asked her what planet she grew up on, because on this one, little children growing up in poverty in India know that show! (Well, I'm guessing they do, if they have a satellite dish...) When I was shopping with Rich on Saturday, I found a VHS copy for 3 dollars, so I bought it for Barb and told her to watch it 35 times so she will know it as well as I do! She also says she isn't familiar with How the Grinch Stole Christmas! If I can find a copy of it, I'll give her that one, too.

12:13 a.m. - 2006-12-12
0 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter