monkeymom's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

In which I have a brush with the legal system

So I found out that when you tell people that you have jury duty, they all tell you the story of the time they had jury duty and how they got dismissed, or the guy pleaded guilty and they got to go home. Am I the only person who has ever been on a case?

I hope that when I go to the courthouse this morning, that I will find out the case was dismissed, or the filthy nasty criminal decided to plead guilty, so I can go home!

So did I mention that I shopped for presents yesterday? As you know, I get all freaked out by the whole buying presents for people thing, and some years I have just frozen and not been able to do anything and then found myself in the hospital gift shop on Christmas eve, unable to make any choices at all, and practically weeping from the stress! I've improved a little since then, but my kids still have the hideous carved Christmas gnomes candlesticks they got that year. I had retreat to my bed like an aging starlet after that little episode, and hide out, watching (probably) episodes of Ken Burns' documentary about the Civil War until the trauma passed.

Speaking of the Civil War, Rachel still has a closet full of clothes from her re-enacting years, and when Heidi called me last Friday to see if she could borrow a shawl to wear to the Christmas in Old Nauvoo party at the church, Rachel pulled a beautiful (if a bit wrinkled, and if we'd had more than 10 minutes notice, we would have ironed it) authentic period outfit out of her butt closet and did a complete Civil War makeover on her! Heidi was authentic down to her underclothes! Rachel even made a quick hairdo for her while I put boots on her feet! I was going to post a picture of her, but I can't find the one I saved in my computer.

Okay, I'm going to go play some Animal Crossing until it's time to go to the courthouse.

7:27 a.m. - 2006-12-19
3 comments

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

Fistofdoom
Tumor-tot
Cocoabean
Catsoul
Jesuitprest

Site Meter